Aftermarket temp gauge


Information and questions on GL1000 Goldwings (1975-1979)
  • Sponsored Links
SnoBrdr
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:01 am
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
Motorcycle: 1978 GL 1000

129K Original Owner

Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby SnoBrdr » Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:59 pm



Has anyone used one on their bike.

Apparently mine has stopped working and even replacing it shows that it still won't work

Either it's the sending unit or the wiring.

I replaced the SU with one that I had that I think was good but nada.

Can only trace the wire to where it disappears into the harness.

Tried hooking up another OEM gauge directly but still get no reading.



User avatar
Maz
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:43 am
Location: Kent, UK
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000K1
1976 CB500T
1979 CB750L
1990 Yamaha FJ1200

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby Maz » Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:57 am

SnoBrdr, you've diagnosed the fault. It's unlikely to be the gauge, as you've replaced it. It's unlikely to be the sender, as you've replaced it. Unlikely to be a bad ground, as the sender is brass and screws into the motor. Must be the wiring. Pull the wire off the sender and ground it. If the gauge doesn't read max, the wire is broken/disconnected somewhere. Run a temporary wire from sender to gauge to prove this.

Maz
Nostalgia is not what it used to be!

SnoBrdr
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:01 am
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
Motorcycle: 1978 GL 1000

129K Original Owner

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby SnoBrdr » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:30 am

Maz wrote:SnoBrdr, you've diagnosed the fault. It's unlikely to be the gauge, as you've replaced it. It's unlikely to be the sender, as you've replaced it. Unlikely to be a bad ground, as the sender is brass and screws into the motor. Must be the wiring. Pull the wire off the sender and ground it. If the gauge doesn't read max, the wire is broken/disconnected somewhere. Run a temporary wire from sender to gauge to prove this.

Maz


I did try this but I may have done it improperly.

I will give it a try when I get back from a short trip.

You'd think it was fairly simple as there are so few things that can actually go wrong.

User avatar
Maz
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:43 am
Location: Kent, UK
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000K1
1976 CB500T
1979 CB750L
1990 Yamaha FJ1200

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby Maz » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:56 am

SnoBrdr wrote:
Maz wrote:SnoBrdr, you've diagnosed the fault. It's unlikely to be the gauge, as you've replaced it. It's unlikely to be the sender, as you've replaced it. Unlikely to be a bad ground, as the sender is brass and screws into the motor. Must be the wiring. Pull the wire off the sender and ground it. If the gauge doesn't read max, the wire is broken/disconnected somewhere. Run a temporary wire from sender to gauge to prove this.

Maz


I did try this but I may have done it improperly.

I will give it a try when I get back from a short trip.

You'd think it was fairly simple as there are so few things that can actually go wrong.


You're right..It is simple - Power into gauge - Wire out of gauge to sender - Sender body grounded. That's it! The sender is just a resistor that varies with heat. The power to the gauge comes from ignition switch, via the 7v regulator so, with ignition on, check for power (7v) between the gauge and ground.

Maz
Nostalgia is not what it used to be!

SnoBrdr
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:01 am
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
Motorcycle: 1978 GL 1000

129K Original Owner

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby SnoBrdr » Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:06 am

Maz wrote:
SnoBrdr wrote:
Maz wrote:SnoBrdr, you've diagnosed the fault. It's unlikely to be the gauge, as you've replaced it. It's unlikely to be the sender, as you've replaced it. Unlikely to be a bad ground, as the sender is brass and screws into the motor. Must be the wiring. Pull the wire off the sender and ground it. If the gauge doesn't read max, the wire is broken/disconnected somewhere. Run a temporary wire from sender to gauge to prove this.

Maz


I did try this but I may have done it improperly.

I will give it a try when I get back from a short trip.

You'd think it was fairly simple as there are so few things that can actually go wrong.


You're right..It is simple - Power into gauge - Wire out of gauge to sender - Sender body grounded. That's it! The sender is just a resistor that varies with heat. The power to the gauge comes from ignition switch, via the 7v regulator so, with ignition on, check for power (7v) between the gauge and ground.

Maz


I checked the 7 volt regulator and tested fine.

SnoBrdr
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:01 am
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
Motorcycle: 1978 GL 1000

129K Original Owner

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby SnoBrdr » Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:22 am

Bad thing is, I can';t even find the part on the parts fiche.

I see the other sending units but not the one for the temp gauge.

Not even sure what it is called.

User avatar
Maz
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:43 am
Location: Kent, UK
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000K1
1976 CB500T
1979 CB750L
1990 Yamaha FJ1200

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby Maz » Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:46 am

SnoBrdr wrote:Bad thing is, I can';t even find the part on the parts fiche.

I see the other sending units but not the one for the temp gauge.

Not even sure what it is called.


The temperature sender is on the right side of the thermostat housing, behind the thermal fan switch. It has a single wire coming off it AND it's a pig to get to!! You can just see it in the picture to the rear of the fan switch.
Maz

Nostalgia is not what it used to be!

SnoBrdr
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:01 am
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
Motorcycle: 1978 GL 1000

129K Original Owner

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby SnoBrdr » Fri Aug 26, 2016 6:31 pm

Maz wrote:
SnoBrdr wrote:Bad thing is, I can';t even find the part on the parts fiche.

I see the other sending units but not the one for the temp gauge.

Not even sure what it is called.


The temperature sender is on the right side of the thermostat housing, behind the thermal fan switch. It has a single wire coming off it AND it's a pig to get to!! You can just see it in the picture to the rear of the fan switch.
Maz

IMAG0059.jpg


Wait, what ?

Maybe I have been playing with the WRONG switch.

The one I have been messing with is right under the carbs on top of the block with a single wire on it.

User avatar
Maz
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:43 am
Location: Kent, UK
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000K1
1976 CB500T
1979 CB750L
1990 Yamaha FJ1200

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby Maz » Sat Aug 27, 2016 1:04 am

Errrr, that would be the oil pressure switch.

Maz
Nostalgia is not what it used to be!

SnoBrdr
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:01 am
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
Motorcycle: 1978 GL 1000

129K Original Owner

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby SnoBrdr » Sun Aug 28, 2016 3:02 pm

Maz wrote:Errrr, that would be the oil pressure switch.

Maz


I fixed it.

The wire had fallen off due to work that had been done late last year on the thermo fan switch.

I saw that the lead had been shortened as it had wrapped itself around the harness.

I also found that by removing the horn and the 2 17mm bolts holding on the black motor/frame mounts that there is enough room once the black mount is moved forward to easily get a swivel on the socket.

User avatar
Maz
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:43 am
Location: Kent, UK
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000K1
1976 CB500T
1979 CB750L
1990 Yamaha FJ1200

Re: Aftermarket temp gauge

Postby Maz » Mon Aug 29, 2016 1:46 am

SnoBrdr wrote:
Maz wrote:Errrr, that would be the oil pressure switch.

Maz


I fixed it.

The wire had fallen off due to work that had been done late last year on the thermo fan switch.

I saw that the lead had been shortened as it had wrapped itself around the harness.

I also found that by removing the horn and the 2 17mm bolts holding on the black motor/frame mounts that there is enough room once the black mount is moved forward to easily get a swivel on the socket.

Glad you sorted it. I had to replace both of those 17mm bolts on mine . When I tried to remove them, they both sheared off! Had to drill them out and insert Helicoils. Luckily the motor was coming out anyway , cos there's no room to drill them while the motor's in the frame.
Maz


Nostalgia is not what it used to be!


Return to “GL1000 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest