Voltage Meter


Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
whiteeaglepwl
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Cedar Bluff Va
Motorcycle: 1982 GL 1100 Aspencade

Voltage Meter

Postby whiteeaglepwl » Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:09 pm



Hello,
I have a 82 Goldwing aspacade and just wanted to know if anyone can help me with my Volt Meter Gauge. I have had this bike for 2 yrs and it has never worked. I just was trying to get it to work so i can keep a check on my chargeing system. Please if anyone can help me i would be thankfull.
Thank you Phillip



User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7645
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Voltage Meter

Postby virgilmobile » Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:27 pm

For some reason I remember a fuse it the circuit.I'll look at the schematic in the morning and post what I find

User avatar
RBGERSON
Posts: 2612
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:57 am
Location: SCOTTSDALE, AZ
Motorcycle: 98 SE GL 1500
had every year from 75 to 83

Re: Voltage Meter

Postby RBGERSON » Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:38 am

I am fairly syre there is a clam shell fuse for the meter in the left side of the fairing..several in there I'd check them out first, then connections.."quick" check pull the meter from the dash and hook directly tot eh battery see if it works.
HAD LOTS OF GOLDWING 75-83
NOW INTO 1500'S..RIDING A 1998 SE

FAIR WINDS,
RB

User avatar
whiteeaglepwl
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Cedar Bluff Va
Motorcycle: 1982 GL 1100 Aspencade

Re: Voltage Meter

Postby whiteeaglepwl » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:54 pm

Ok I will try that. I will let you know if that works thanks very much.

User avatar
whiteeaglepwl
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Cedar Bluff Va
Motorcycle: 1982 GL 1100 Aspencade

Re: Voltage Meter

Postby whiteeaglepwl » Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:47 am

Hello again
I ran jumpers from my battery to the voltmeter and it works fine. I looked for the fuse and never could find one. My next quiston is how would i just run new wires to the voltmeter were would i hook it up to? To my battery or were.
Thanks for all your help Phillip

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7645
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Voltage Meter

Postby virgilmobile » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:42 pm

Actually, your fuse box has a accessory terminal on it.I'd tie it in there.Be sure it's fused.1 amp is plenty.

User avatar
whiteeaglepwl
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Cedar Bluff Va
Motorcycle: 1982 GL 1100 Aspencade

Re: Voltage Meter

Postby whiteeaglepwl » Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:27 am

Ok Thank you. I will try that thanks a whole lot for your help

User avatar
whiteeaglepwl
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Cedar Bluff Va
Motorcycle: 1982 GL 1100 Aspencade

Re: Voltage Meter

Postby whiteeaglepwl » Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:01 pm

Just wanted to let you know i got that fixed i ran another wire from my gauge to the altermar and now it works great and llol i did but a fuse in it. Thanks again for all the help this is a great place to learn to work on your own bike thanks to all of you
Phillip




Return to “GL1100 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests