Fouling Plug???

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: 1981 1100 Goldwing

Fouling Plug???

Postby bcnv1100 » Wed Jun 06, 2012 4:30 pm

Okay so i have a 81 1100 bike that runs good, but basically stripped and ugly, buddy just gave his 83 aspencade, its dressed out and beutifull. He said he would go about 20 miles and foul one of the plugs and couldn't figure it out. So he offered me the bike just have to swap the engines and i should have a really nice bike. He took out his engine and brought bike, engine and all the parts to me, and yesterday i started stripping down my bike. Then i got to thinking about this site, i'm no mechanic but i can figure it out with a little help. So is a a plug that keeps fouling worth looking into?? I dont want to spend hundreds on fixing it. The engine is out of the bike and with trouble shooting it i wouldnt know where to start. But if its not that bad i could have two running bikes here.... any advice??? anybody in Vegas up for some wrenching!!!??? haha

Motorcycle: 1980 GL1100

Re: Fouling Plug???

Postby moritz1100 » Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:46 pm

Might not be too bad, can you put up a pic of the fouled plug. Depends whether it's oil fouled or carbon fouled. If it's oil fouled, it could be due to bad piston rings or the cylinder needing to be bored out or maybe new valve stem seals.. If the plug is not covered in oil and is carbon fouled, white-ish colour, it might just be down to a bad HT lead or the wrong type plug, at worst a sticking valve. check and see if the correct plugs are installed in all four cylinders, if they're NGK plugs the code on them should be DR8ES-L, maybe worth checking if the cap is correct for the plugs too, should say XD05F. Picture of the plug will tell the story..

Motorcycle: 1981 1100 Goldwing

Postby bcnv1100 » Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:53 pm