Front tire bounces at lower speed

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
Bryancga
Motorcycle: 1982 GL11OO

Front tire bounces at lower speed

Postby Bryancga » Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:13 am

Hello,
I am new to Goldwing Docs, I'm 51and have been riding MC's since my teens .
I purchased a 82 Gl 1100 with 43,000 miles this past spring and had new brakes, fork seals, along with new tires they are M/N Shinko 230. Unfortunately the front tire bounces at speeds of 45 and below, it reminds you of a warped
rotor on braking car. I took it back to the shop that installed the tires they said that the balance of the tires
were fine and that we needed to replace the fork springs I disagree with them, my theory is that if the fork springs were bad
they would bounce at all speeds. I had another independent bike mechanic check it out and he said that front tire has a flat spot.
I don't know what direction to go with this problem .Any suggestions will be appreciated

Thanks Bryan

virgilmobile
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Front tire bounces at lower speed

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:13 am

It is possible the tire is not seated on the rim properly,the rim is bent(even the cast ones),fork slides worn and the forks are seizing,defective casting on the tire,bent fork,etc.
I would center stand it and jack the front end up just enough to get the wheel off the ground.
turn the wheel and watch the rim(both sides) and the tire(at the bead and tread) to see if there is any "out of round"
I did have a 83 that hit a curb so hard that it bent the rim in one spot and bend one fork 0.035" out of true.
It took a while to find that.I had to tear the whole thing down and inspect every part.
I also threw away the weights and use balancing beads in the tires.

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)