Ok new starter and solenoid installed and same problem

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
mfrancis
Motorcycle: 1983 Honda Gold Wing Aspencade

Ok new starter and solenoid installed and same problem

Postby mfrancis » Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:37 pm

Hi everyone

I have installed a new starter motor and also a new solenoid and almost like before when you hit the start button I get a spinning noise, but if I just slightly hit the starter button I can get the bike to start, not everytime maybe 1 out 3 trys of slightly pressing the start button.

Any suggestions and help is greatly appreciated as I am a complete newbie at this and very desperate to get my bike running and do not have money to take it to a bike shop

This is a 1983 honda Goldwing Aspencade

trashtruck
Motorcycle: 1982 gl1100 interstate

Re: Ok new starter and solenoid installed and same problem

Postby trashtruck » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:48 pm

sounds more like starter clutch. run a can of sea foam in the oil and ride for an easy 100 mi or so then change out oil and filter. the springs and rollers get gummed up with junk and the clutch wont engage properly. it sits behind the rotor/stator so any repairs require a motor pull.
WHAT IS THE SPEED OF DARK?

mfrancis

Postby mfrancis » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:52 pm

Thanks I read about this sea Foam and I am now ordring two cans and also new oil filters so that I can run it and change the oil

mfrancis

Postby mfrancis » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:13 pm

One other question, I ma looking at the Maintenance maunal and I found the clutch but nothing about sprag clutch so when everyone is talking about the clutch I am assuming there is only one?

trashtruck

Postby trashtruck » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:42 pm