wobble when taking off and turning at the same time

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
83 goldwing
Motorcycle: 1983 goldwing Aspencade

wobble when taking off and turning at the same time

Postby 83 goldwing » Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:16 pm

Hi I am new to this form I have a 1983 goldwing and ever since that I have owned it it has had a wobble in it when I take off it seem to be worst on a hill or when I am starting off and turning left or right after I get going it seems to be alright, I rebuilt the front forks but did not change out the springs (they measured out alright but I am wondering if I should have changed them out anyway) and it still did it, I did not ride it at all last year because it is bothering that much, I talked to a dealer and he said that that was normal they called it a flex frame and that is normal, then I was talking to some one about it and they said that there was a brace that you could put on to the front fork and that would take the wobble out, then I was reading about the same bracket on this forum and I was wondering if anybody might have a picture of it, or is this a normal issue with this bike and has anybody else had this problem.
I really like the bike except for this issue and it has detured form riding because it unsettling, I would not like it to happen at 65 or 70 mph. any information would be very helpful
Thank you 83 goldwing

trashtruck
Motorcycle: 1982 gl1100 interstate

Re: wobble when taking off and turning at the same time

Postby trashtruck » Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:20 pm

check your front calipers and see if they aren't binding when released. there are some companies that make different style fork braces but in my opinion thats like putting a bandaid on it. it doesn't solve the problem. some experience front end wobble due to incorrect tire pressure, sticking brakes, incorrect fluid level, incorrect wheel install, incorrect air pressure in the forks, bad fork seals etc....