GL1100 Carbs Won't Sync

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
Crmpacer
Motorcycle: 1982 GL1100A Aspencade

GL1100 Carbs Won't Sync

Postby Crmpacer » Sun Apr 21, 2013 10:48 pm

Greetings all. I am new to riding and repair and was not seeing my problem listed on the threads so I am looking for some advice.

I recently acquired a 1982 Goldwing Apencade GL100 and she had been unridden in a year. The bike was very hard to start so I ran a can of Berrymans B12 through the gas and I got it to start and run with revs up but not idle. After getting a tank of gas through it (by idle and rides up my street and back) I put in a full can of seafoam and a fresh tank of gas and witnessed an ever better improvement. The bike will now start up with little effort of choke but still only idle if the adjustment is set to around 2000rpm+.

Anything under 2000rpm has a very rough idle and a lag/slap from the carbs or timing belt.

As soon as I got the bike to idle at 2000rpms I let the bike sit overnight and the next morning I adjusted the valves and gave it an oil change.
My next step was to sync the carbs with a four gauge set I ordered off E-bay but when I hooked the set up the #3 cylinder showed a vaccum or intake leak and was in the red. The number one carb was holding steady at 3PSI and the two and four were close to 0PSI/red line.

I am assuming that since the #3 carb is my constant that it has a leak of some kind or another issue that is keeping it from registering.

I have never worked on a motorcycle but am handy with tools. I am a full time adult student on a very tight budget so I do not have the money for a professional mechanic and am not sure how to proceed. The gentleman said rebuilt carbs had been put on a year and a half ago and two years ago he put on new timing belts.