81 GL1100 project & another fuel tank solution

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
OpenCarryUSMC
Motorcycle: '07 Shadow Aero 750 (GF's)
'84 GL1200A
'82 GL1100I (FOR SALE)
'83 Yam XJ650 (GF's) (Sold)
'02 1100 Shadow Saber
'81 GL1100 standard
'00 750 Shadow ACE (Totaled)
'83 Yam XJ650 Maxim (sold)
'82 Suz 125 St/Tr (sold)

81 GL1100 project & another fuel tank solution

Postby OpenCarryUSMC » Fri Jul 26, 2013 4:54 pm

First I want to say GREAT SITE and GREAT WEALTH OF KNOWLEDGE here. I'm a long time mechanic, formally schooled by the military for jet aircraft and by a vocational school for autos. I wrenched for a living on aircraft, military motor vehicles, an a county yard schooling (civilian) and worked 4.5 years on military vehicles and 5 years in a local county shop for a total of 21 years. I've seen a lot, done a lot, and made a lot of field "repairs".....like driving my 1965 MGB from Waikiki to Kaneohe (over the mountain) with no fuel pump--it got me home......

Anyway, I've been riding since I was 21 and other than routine maintenance, motorcycles pretty much intimidate me. I went though a divorce in 2010/11 and in the process got both bikes which had been sitting since 2005. 1) 2002 Shadow Sabre 1100 with bags, shield, Mustang seat, and tons of Kuryakan (sp) goodies and chrome. 2) 81 Goldwing 1100 standard with Vetter fairing/bags and a Hondaline box on the rack. The Goldwing was picked up after crashing a 2000 750 Shadow ACE and losing my first wife in the process. I got it for a good deal, in running condition, to see if "getting back on" was going to work out. Needless to say, about a month and 3000 miles later, I was convinced riding was still fun.