"Run after shut off and now no power.

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
Stefano
Motorcycle: 1982 GL1100

"Run after shut off and now no power.

Postby Stefano » Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:03 pm

I have a 1982 GL1100 and had some run on after stopping and shutting off using the handlebar switch. Then I turned the ignition on and off and then nothing. I turn the key to "on" and nothing. No power anywhere. I checked my fuses up top and all five are good. I didn't read anything marked "ignition". I am new at these 'Wings and this web site. It was running a little glitchy at slow speed, yesterday, but when I hit the power, all seemed fine. No missing.

So what is up with this run on after shut off? It happened one other time a few months ago and yesterday. Stator? Another fuse I don't know about? If anyone can help; I would really appreciate it! My battery was fine and fully charged I am pretty certain. No cranking hesitation.
[b
So run on and now no power. Period to anything to keep it simple. (I am learning how to post more concisely.)

virgilmobile
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: "Run after shut off and now no power.

Postby virgilmobile » Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:16 pm

I'll look at the schematic but I need to know...Is this a standard or interstate....
The "run on"...I assume you mean that turning the key to the off position didn't kill the bike and you had to use the kill switch..?
This happen before and then was OK then happened again.?
Now the bike is DOA...?

Side note:unplug the 4 wire plug from the starter solenoid,push the little plastic pin and open the trap door...There is a metal fuse link in there,they often fail by vibration cracking..
There usually is a spare in the trap door...
If that fuse is obviously blown..Do not replace it till "we" figure out what blew it...
A fuse "blows"for a reason...

virgilmobile
Previously owned