Page 1 of 1

radio memory

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:19 pm
by heymandavid14
my radio and clock on my 83 aspencade will not hold its memory, how do i fix it so it will.

Re: radio memory

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:37 am
by thrasherg
I would check your fuses, there is an always on supply to the radio (that is fused) to keep the clock operating and the radio memory. If you are loosing both then I suspect you have lost the supply (bad wire/connection or dead fuse) is most likely.

Gary

Re: radio memory

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:10 pm
by WingAdmin
Yep, it's normally caused by a blown fuse. Remove the left front turn signal, and in behind it you'll find a rat's nest of wires. In amongst the wires you'll find some white plastic inline fuse holders that contain glass fuses. Check these fuses - pull them out and use a meter to check them. Sometimes these old fuses look fine, but have actually dried out the adhesive in the ends, causing them to fail.

Re: radio memory

Posted: Sat May 01, 2010 8:13 pm
by gordonv
My radio also used to not hold the memory, and like said, it was a blown fuse behind the left turn signal. The fuse in my 82' Aspencade was in a flip open housing, and was a 1A fuse. There was also a good spare in the door of the holder. I've now bought a spare to replace it, but it hasn't blown again, so I'm hoping I'll be good for another 25 years.

(There are 2 types of fuse holders, the bayanet push and twist open type, and the snap closed lid type.)

Re: radio memory

Posted: Tue May 04, 2010 3:07 pm
by heymandavid14
Thank you my memory is back LOL. It was a fuse, I had checked them once and they all looked good, I guess looks can be deceiving.

Re: radio memory

Posted: Tue May 04, 2010 4:01 pm
by thrasherg
Glad to hear we could help.. No go and ride the bike and enjoy yourself and the radio!!

Re: radio memory

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:34 am
by rcno33
I'm glad I took the time to surf through the questions in the forum--I have the same problem with my 84 Aspencade.

I will get in behind the left turn signal this morning and give your solution a try--I had no idea there were fuses back there because my schematics don't mention the audio system at all--and I sure haven't taken off the entire fairing to see what's back there.

Ironically, I was in behind the RIGHT turn signal yesterday, gaining access to install an auxiliary power outlet to bring juice to my GPS. (I mounted it where the rubber plug was in the space opposite the headlight tilt knob--it looks good there and will be perfectly placed.)