leaking air from suspension on 82 aspy

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
Raj
Motorcycle: 82 aspencade 1100

leaking air from suspension on 82 aspy

Postby Raj » Tue Sep 09, 2014 9:24 pm

Hi, I'm new to the Goldwing world. Bought an 82 gl11000A last fall and have been riding it to work
for a couple of months. Among other things the suspension is showing signs of old age.
The pump will pressure up the shocks but seems to lose air over a few days.
Controls are kind of confusing as well.
not many riding days left up here in Grande Prairie Alberta, so any advice is welcome.

HawkeyeGL1200
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 Interstate
1981 GL1100 Interstate

Re: leaking air from suspension on 82 aspy

Postby HawkeyeGL1200 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:11 am

Like any other pneumatic system, the suspension on your Goldwing can be losing air pressure for any number of reasons... all of them have to do with leaks. The leak down can be happening due to lose or worn fittings, or worn seals. If you don't mind pumping up the shocks every few days until your riding season is over, I don't think it will make things worse when the time comes to repair everything.