Rear Brake Problems

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
moneypit
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100I Interstate

Rear Brake Problems

Postby moneypit » Fri May 15, 2015 7:40 pm

Ok so I'm out on Moneypit when I notice the rear brake pedal is getting higher and higher every time I stopped. When I got home the rear brake was on to the point I couldn't roll the bike. I opened the bleeder and was able to push the caliper piston back no problem. Pumped the pedal the and the same thing the rear brake wont release. So what do you think do I have a bad rear master cylinder or could it be the proportioning valve ... If it is one or the other is this something that can be purchased from Honda or after market... If any of you have any ideas please let me know .... Thanx..

FM-USA
Motorcycle: .
'91 GL1500-I (Dbl-Darkside)
Acquired:__51K_Jun_??/2007
MADE_IT!_200K_Oct_17/2016
iRide 24/365 99% SmileMiles
================
"You don't buy yourself a
HD to be SATISFIED,...
you buy it to keep your
HD friends PACIFIED."
================
|
ANTAGONISTS need not post.
|
==================

Re: Rear Brake Problems

Postby FM-USA » Fri May 15, 2015 8:59 pm

Put you baby over your shoulder and pat until it burps.
:lol: ANYways...
I had the 83 Wing and the same problem. In all basics, if one item is giving you the fits, the other is ready to.
Long story short, I am saving you time and lots of grief. Read this complete, it has cross references.
All at the same time cause you don't want re-contamination.
Disassemble rear, front and master, clean with spray brake cleaner, lines also. Use a clean white rag to catch "X" from the lines and calipers, you'll want to know and curiosity will kill you if you don't.
Get new seals or "IF" your on a budget, clean and check all seals, they might be re-useable, mine were. Piston seal seals on one edge, the other edge might/should be good.