Brake Line Leaking and Other Stuff

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
lslevine39
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100 Interstate

Brake Line Leaking and Other Stuff

Postby lslevine39 » Wed Jun 17, 2015 6:44 pm

Hi Everyone,
This is my first time posting. I am virtually finished a seven month refurb on an 1983 GL1100. So close, but thwarted by brake fluid leaking at the front splitter. It's a double join where one line comes in from the master and another line goes to the right-front caliper. The master, lines (stainless), and banjo bolts are all new, with new copper crush washers, and both front calipers have been rebuilt.

The oil bolt is as tight as it will go. Any tighter and I'll break it off. This is driving me nuts. If I have to, I'll run the line that goes from the splitter to the right caliper from caliper to caliper.
If this wasn't enough, the rear break goes down, but does not come up on its own. The pivot has been cleaned and greased, and the spring is ok. It seems that the piston in the master cylinder is sticking. The rear master and caliper have been rebuilt as well, with same new stainless lines and banjo bolts.
Please help. I want to be riding, not working on this thing any longer. The weather is too good to be in the garage. :roll:

Rob H
Motorcycle: 2000 1500 SE, XR 650, CBR 600, Harley FB, KLR 650, CBX 750 Cafe Racer, Z1000 Eddie Lawson.

Re: Brake Line Leaking and Other Stuff

Postby Rob H » Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:02 pm

I had a similar problem with my front brake splitter on my 750. Take it apart again and clean all the mating surfaces and check that you have not marked any of the sealing surfaces while you have been working there. My left caliper runs off the right side of the splitter and my right caliper off the left side, don't ask me why but that was the way I sorted the leak.

Face the crush washers on a flat surface with some water paper.