Introduction and questions

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
TKtech
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100 Interstate

Introduction and questions

Postby TKtech » Sun Nov 15, 2015 8:31 pm

Hello and thank you for this wonderful resource! Fair warning to you all, consider me a beginner in every sense of the word.
First, let me introduce myself:
My name is Tyler. I am an electronics technician in education, an electronics and appliance repair technician by trade, and I tinker and dabble in just about everything else. I am mechanically inclined and have a good intuition when it comes to most things, but I am definitely lacking when it comes to automotive/internal combustion engines, so don't be afraid to digress into basics or theory. I have experience with what most around here would consider basic maintenance of my car, and a few off road vehicles such as a dirtbike and trike. Recently, I acquired an '83 GL1100 Interstate with ~60k miles on it. It was dirt cheap, I like the look of them when they are stripped down, and isn't in too poor of condition. I wanted a winter project, and this seemed like a good one.
Second, a more detailed summary of the bike:
'83 GL1100 Interstate, ~60k miles with unknown history. Clean title, has only fallen over. Minor cosmetic issues from that. Original tires from the look of it. Has been covered all its life but not garaged, she is showing her age. Original owner made a few electrical modifications to the lights (kill switch).
Third, the questions: