Engine turns over only when spark plugs are out

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
scheibye
Motorcycle: 1980 GL1100

Engine turns over only when spark plugs are out

Postby scheibye » Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:10 pm

Hi all,

First of all thank you for this awesome forum. The guides here have really helped a complete newbie such as myself. I am new to this forum and to motorcycles in general.

I have had issues with getting my 1980 GL1100 to start after it sat for 2-3 weeks. It used to run very nicely without any issues at all. I first thought it was the starter because the bike didn't turn over so I used your excellent guide and rebuild the starter which I am happy to say led to a very nice a clean starter that works...but it did not fix the problem.

I pulled the plugs (also using your guide, thanks again!) and the engine now turns over very nicely, hooray! However, when I put the plugs back in, the engine turns over maybe once or twice and then won't turn over at all. Without knowing anything I was thinking that some kind of vacuum is created that prevents the engine from turning over.

Anyway, I am at a loss. I can remove the plugs and the engine turns over, add them back in and it gets stuck right away. The plugs are brand new 8DEA installed per your instruction with careful consideration not to overtighten them.

Any words from the wise and knowledgeable people of this forum?

wingman12
Motorcycle: 1999 gl1500 se

Re: Engine turns over only when spark plugs are out

Postby wingman12 » Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:09 am