dead # 3 cylinder

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
badshow
Motorcycle: 1982 Honda gold wing gl 1100 interstate

dead # 3 cylinder

Postby badshow » Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:57 pm

hey guys I am new to this,

over the winter of last year I was given an 82 gold wing 1100 interstate from a relative.. sat outside for 2 years un covered in all types of weather. did some restoring on it over the winter and I have been riding it all summer long its been a blast but I seem to think I have a dead cylinder.

I have rebuilt the carbs, compression is good, and I have spark.

when I pull the boot to spark plug/cylinder 3 it does not change idle or affect how the engine is running but when I pull 1,2, or 4 it does change how engine is running..

so question is. is this a primary cylinder that will not affect when boot is pulled off
(only reason I say that is because when you sync the carbs you use #3 as a primary to work off of.

and if it is suppose to fire or change the way that the engine is running what should I look at?

I just today replaced the boots with ngk, new ngk plug, I do get spark to plug , compression is equivalent with all other cylinder, and its a rebuilt carb not even 4 months ago and its been doing this the entire time, I'm pretty confident its not the carb.

I have read some things on the fuel valve (flapper type diaphragm) could this be my problem>? or perhaps the well hole?..

I do have a slow engine oil leak at the output shaft seal , could that cause it? I'm trying to refrain from pulling the engine because once I do its full restoration :) ..... :(

answers or hints please and thanks?

wingman12
Motorcycle: 1999 gl1500 se

Re: dead # 3 cylinder

Postby wingman12 » Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:20 pm