81GL1100 running funny and knock when warming up (new to 'Wings)

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
shaggybus
Motorcycle: 1981 GL1100

81GL1100 running funny and knock when warming up (new to 'Wings)

Postby shaggybus » Tue Jul 12, 2016 7:42 pm

Hi all.

I just got my first Goldwing about 10 days ago. I'm still new to the bike so I'm learning my way around it. I got it in trade for some tools and it's in pretty decent shape. I rode it home about 40 miles from where I got it without any problems other than the brakes dragging a little. I rebuilt the master cylinders and the calipers (thanks to Goldwing Docs great articles) and now it stops on a dime. Today when I went out for a ride it was running a little rough. I'm handy but no mechanic so excuse my rough descriptions. It was running as if it was just starting to get low on gas. That kind of sputtering just a moment before you would switch to reserve although I had a full tank. I was out running a few errands on it and it was running like that the whole time but never got worse or better or stalled. Just some irregular hesitations as I rode accompanied by some light popping and backfiring from the exhaust when downshifting. Just like my gas gaugeless Virago acts when I get low and hit reserve. I've only had the bike for about 200 miles and never had a water-cooled bike before so not sure where to start. Also, there is a bit of a knock coming from the left (drivers side) head when it's warming up. Not sure if it's related but thought I should add all the symptoms. It's not steady, just a couple soft taps on and off as it's warming up and it goes away in a minute or so. The guy I got it from said it did it as long as he had it but I think he flips bikes so I don't know that this was his daily rider for very long. Any suggestions on what to check would be much appreciated. Fuel pump maybe? never had one of those on a bike before. Timing gone off? He showed me receipts for ne