Cool mornings = beautiful afternoons!

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
lmaxfield
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100A Aspencade

Cool mornings = beautiful afternoons!

Postby lmaxfield » Thu Sep 29, 2016 1:40 pm

I have been riding my '83 Aspencade to commute to work a few days a week this summer. Not a thrilling ride, but a ride's a ride and any time on the bike is well spent. I have been really looking forward to the fall as the temperature drops, making the ride home much more pleasant (I hate sitting in traffic in 100 degree temps). We are now getting mornings in the low 50s with afternoons in the 60s-70s - perfect riding for me. This is my first time in cold(ish) weather with this bike and I am trying to work out the starting ritual. It cranks and starts up fine, but does not want to idle immediately, often requiring 5 or 6 starts before it will slowly, begrudgingly start to idle and warm up. I have tried various positions on the choke and I know from other bikes that each has their own idiosyncrasies but I am wondering what you all find to work on your "bikes of a certain age." Full choke? Half choke? Any throttle? Time cranking? How long to warm up before you take off? I'm always able to get it going, so this isn't an emergency "I can't ride!" type of thread. Just trying to learn from the hive.

Thanks!
Lynn

lmaxfield

Re: Cool mornings = beautiful afternoons!

Postby lmaxfield » Tue Oct 04, 2016 5:50 pm

So, judging by the number of responses, perhaps the better question would be: Does anyone else even have any difficulty getting their wing to start in cool weather(<55 f)? Perhaps I am just in need of some maintenance.

Maz
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000K1
1976 CB500T
1979 CB750L
1990 Yamaha FJ1200

Postby Maz » Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:18 am