carb pilot screws missing?

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
Blindin1i
Motorcycle: 1980 GL1100

carb pilot screws missing?

Post by Blindin1i » Wed Jun 07, 2017 6:49 pm

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie here and this is my first time to ask for help or information. I recently bought a 1980 GL1100 from a guy who had just bought a new bike and wanted to get the Wing out of his garage to create more space. It had starter problems and the guy didn't feel confident enough to fix it himself. He made me a deal on the bike that I couldn't refuse. I fixed the starter issue and got the engine running. I noticed that it was firing on only 3 cylinders and the #4 cylinder was dead. I checked the compression on all cylinders and they were all ok. I checked for spark on #4 and the spark was good. I even changed the spark plug thinking the plug might be bad. I had already changed the coils, plug wires and boots. Everything seemed good so I figured #4 wasn't getting any fuel. The carbs were so dirty and nasty I decided to just go ahead and remove, clean and overhaul them. I bought the Randakk carb rebuild kit since it seems as though everyone says it's the best to use. After removing the carb assembly and cleaning it up some, I noticed that there were only 2 carbs with pilot screws. In my Honda GoldWing 1980-1983 Service Manual, it talks about adjusting pilot screws for EACH carb. So now I'm wondering why there are only 2 pilot screws on my carbs. Carbs #2 and #3 both appear to have brass plugs where the pilot screws should be. (See attached photos) I haven't started stripping apart the carbs yet and I'm not going to until I can get this figured out first. Has anybody ever seen this before?
Attachments
no pilot screw
no pilot screw
no pilot screw
no pilot screw

indianakid
Motorcycle: 83 GL1100 I

Re: carb pilot screws missing?

Post by indianakid » Wed Jun 07, 2017 7:17 pm