Cooling system question

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: 82 GL110 A

Cooling system question

Post by tstjohn84 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:58 pm

Started up my 82 1100i tonight after replacing the 7 volt regulator it ran good and my fuel and temp guage started working as they should the fan kicks on when it should everything seemed fine then I noticed what appeared to be white smoke coming from the thermostat housing gasket but I didn't see any fluid has this ever happened to any body...I just changed the thermostat at the beginning of last riding season and never had an issue until now. And there is coolant dripping from the little weep hole under the timing belt cover.

Another question kinda of this topic but can the valve cover gaskets be changed without having to take the timing belts off I'm a decent enough mechanic, I think, but tearing into the timing belts makes me a nervous wreck. I've watched and read just about every tutorial I can find on it and I know that they are like the first thing that I should do but I'm worried I'll miss something and then be out of a ride and definitely can't afford a pro to do it. Any advice would be greatly appropriately. Thanks

P.s. I have had the timing belt cover off and the belts do look OK...I know that doesn't mean a lot but it gave me a little peace of mind

Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100 I purchased 3/16

1983 GL1100I frame with an 80 engine. poor boy installed with C-5 ignition--DIED in Grande Prairie Alberta Canada 8/15

98 valkyrie sold 8/16

Re: Cooling system question

Post by Wilcoy02 » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:36 am

Yes you can change the valve cvrs w/out taking off the timing belts.
But do change the belts if you have no idea of their age. They may look good but if they break then you are truly out of luck.