Sound, Digital Readout (radio) and Turn Signal - GL1100

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
CoffeeNinja
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100A Aspencade

Sound, Digital Readout (radio) and Turn Signal - GL1100

Post by CoffeeNinja » Fri May 04, 2018 2:21 am

Hey everyone!
I am a newbie here and a first time (happy) Goldwing owner. 1983 GL1100A Aspencade.
I purchased the bike in November in Stockholm, and drove it up to Northern Sweden where I live.
It sat in the garage where I have been polishing it and cleaning it up ever since.
I took her out for her first real test ride on May 1st. Everything ran great after warming up. All digital readouts on the fairing were working, all lights coming on, and the radio was blasting.
Got her home and parked her in the garage. Later on in the evening I started cleaning her off and decided to clean the vinyl and rubber a bit (seat, switches, fairing, etc).
Two days later I go in to continue waxing, and notice that the digital FM/AM readout tunes up and down, but there's no sound from the speakers. I turn it off, poke around some wires to make sure nothing is loose, and then notice that the FM/AM readout is no longer coming in.
I get suspicious and check the turn signals, and notice that they are no longer turning on and blinking either.
And now this is where I am.
I started going through the fuses (behind the left indicator). 3 white clamshell and 3 "twisty" spring-loaded ones. Only one fuse looked suspicious (but you never know). I tried swapping that fuse with another in there that looked better, but noticed no difference.

So I suppose my question to you experienced owners is this:

Are all these things related electrically?
  • -Radio
    -LED Radio readout
    -Turn Signals
Could it be a main fuse and not an in-line?
When should I think about replacing the flashing indicator relay?