Front-end wobble - Notice to Goldwing newbies

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
tonyincny
Motorcycle: 1982 GL1100I Interstate

Front-end wobble - Notice to Goldwing newbies

Postby tonyincny » Tue Dec 28, 2010 4:19 pm

I am a Goldwing newbie although I have owned 1985 Honda Shadows and a couple of older Harleys. I bought the Goldwing from a fellow who lives about an hour away - I traded my Jeep Wrangler for his 1982 Goldwing.

So, I drove my Jeep out to his house and planned on driving the Goldwing back to my house. Everything went well until I came to my first stop and turn. As I made the turn I thought I noticed a wobble in the front end. But, it wasn't severe so I kept driving. Later, I made a moving left turn and touched the brakes.

Wow, there was a wobble in the front-end. I thought the front wheel was ready to fall off the bike. I stopped and checked the front-end and everything seemed tight and secure. But, that hour long ride home seemed like forever. I thought for sure that something catastrophic was going to happen.

After I got home, I did some research on the Internet and discovered that the wobble is normal. I believe the owner's manual even says the same. I don't know what makes the Goldwing so different from the other bikes I have owned. But, to all Goldwing newbies, don't be alarmed but do check things out - just in case.

Have any of you experienced guys and gals had a similar experience?

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Front-end wobble - Notice to Goldwing newbies

Postby WingAdmin » Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:40 pm

A wobble like that is not "normal" - it's more common among Goldwings, but it is not something that SHOULD be there. My 82 exhibits no wobble whatsoever until about 80 mph, and at that point it's an aerodynamic weave, not anything to do with bearings or looseness.