Engine only firing on 2 cylinders

Information and questions on GL1100 Goldwings (1980-1983)
  • Sponsored Links
QuestionGuy
Motorcycle: 1980 GL1100

Engine only firing on 2 cylinders

Postby QuestionGuy » Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:29 pm

Aloha Everyone. I'm new in Oregon, from Hawaii, and just picked up a 1980 Honda Goldwing International. It's a nice bike , for it's age, and has luggage, fairing, radio, and other gear in good shape.
I've just finished a road trip of several hundred miles, and while I was out and about I managed to pull into a roadside gas station where the retired father of the current mechanic was a goldwing mechanic for Honda! He told me it was a nice enough bike, for the price I'd paid, but was only running on 2 of 4 cylinders.

Doing a little shopping on ebay, I picked up some coils and pickups as the prices were very good, but I don't know that those devices are even what need replacing. Here's what I've done so far, and symptoms of the bike:

The bike doesn't start anymore, as the starter solenoid took a ****, but I have one of those coming from ebay as well. However, I can start it every time by jumping the contacts on the solenoid, and off I go.
When I let the engine dip below 3000 rpm I get quite the chugging/lugging sound. I'm not sure if that is piston slap, lugging, or just what I get for not having all cylinders firing properly at lower rpm's.
Several times, at rpm's between 3-5k I've had the other cylinders 'turn on'. Or, at least, that's what I think is going on. The engine sounds smoother, and I've instantly got more power available at the throttle.
Side problem- the throttle is STIFF, hard to turn but driveable with my massage therapist hands of power ;)

So, while at the mechanics, we tried several things to get the bike running smoothly. He troubleshot the starter, and we multimetered and probed, ending up with the solenoid being the culprit.