Clutch Problem

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
Don A
Motorcycle: 1987 GL1200 Aspencade

Clutch Problem

Postby Don A » Wed May 16, 2012 6:54 pm

Newbie here with a problem. I bought my first wing (87 GL1200 Aspencade with 67,XXX miles) in Feb. It'd been sitting about 5 years in a garage. Brought it home, did all the usual fluids, timing belt change, new battery, carb cleaning, ect. and after about a week of cleaning the exterior she looked and ran great. Now the problem. I've been riding this bike back and forth to work (about a 15 minute ride) and around on short runs of about 30 minutes. NEVER riding it hard, never over 60mph peroid. Today I got on and rode 3 miles to the local station and went inside to pick up something on my way to work. Ran perfect. Left the station and noticed on taking off it acted like i slipped the clutch just a little. (I'm an experienced rider, been riding over 30 years) Within a mile I noticed the rpm's being higher than usual. Within another 2 miles it was like the clutch was slipping so bad I was down to 20mph. I pulled off the side and luckily a friend was coming by with his truck and pulling a trailer on his way to the lumber yard and we loaded it up.

I'm guessing the clutch is shot. Right? It gave no noticible signs that I picked up on prior to this. If this is it what all will I need to get my girl back on the road. Just the plates or what all else. I don't want to short cut it with a patch job if I'm going to be into it that deep I want to do it right.

I joined this forum shortly after buying my wing and so far you all have answered any question I've had have been answered without me even have to ask. Your a great bunch and I hope one day I will be able to be of help out on here with my input.
Attachments
You all said you like pics so I included one.  She's not new but she's mine.
You all said you like pics so I included one. She's not new but she's mine.

damessor92