Caliper rebuild issues

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
gof
Motorcycle: 2004 Titanium Gl1800 & 1984 Gold Wing Aspencade 1200

Caliper rebuild issues

Postby gof » Sun Jul 15, 2012 8:39 am

I am rebuilding the caliper and installed new seals.

Issue 1: The width of the new seals seems thinner on the larger seal. Could the old seals have been swollen? On the large piston seal it seems like it has extra space around it now within the piston wall.

Issue 2: Even though I lubed the seals and pistons with fluid, the pistons don't seem to want to go back in. The go in about 1/4" and then just stick and bind. Are they supposed to slide in easily? Should I lubed the caliper walls inside? Again, this does not seem smooth, but I am not an expert.

Yes the pistons are clean and the seal area is clean.

SilverDave
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 GoldWing Aspy

Re: Caliper rebuild issues

Postby SilverDave » Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:10 pm

Well they don't go in " easily " ... for me it required " Two Thumbs" on te piston and fairly hard pushing....
but...
If the seals are in their channels, cleaned out, and lubed... they will go in " smoothly " .

If they are stopping after 1/4 inch ... I think the seals are not all the way in their channels.

I pushed my seals down into their grove with a round wooden stick, going around and around several times to ensure they were seated fully.

Sizing :

and if you can see this "extra space " something is wrong...

Double check that Mother Honda gave you the right sealing rings

Or if you bought them aftermarket... go back to Honda and get the OEM ones .

Note : If you nick the new seals, even a little , while forcing them into their channels ... the pistons will not slide in .....

Don't ask me how I know this ...
LOL

SilverDave

gof

Postby gof » Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:36 pm

They seemed seated. I ended up pushing one in fairly hard and tapping the other in with a steel rod and rubber mallet.

Phunnybone