New owner, a gift by a stranger.

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
YogiKai
Motorcycle: 1985 gl1200 Aspencade

New owner, a gift by a stranger.

Postby YogiKai » Thu Dec 27, 2012 2:15 am

Hello, all.

I am a pro balloon twister, and I have been traveling around on a '81 Yamaha 850 special for several months, twisting balloons for children. About 3 weeks ago, I stopped in a Golden Corral restaurant close to Victorville, California, to eat and made balloons for the kids around me. About half an hour later, the young father of one of the kids came up to me and said, "I noticed that you look pretty cramped on that little bike with all your stuff. Ever wish you had more room?" I said, "Yes, but it is what it is." To which he replied, "Well, I have a Goldwing. You want it?"

He gave it to me. He's a night security guard for a construction company, living on the lot with his family in a double wide trailer. Said he gave it to me because he wants to help someone who gives his life making kids happy. Awesome young man, 32 years old. He's storing the Yamaha for me until I figure out what to do with it. I've put 600 miles on it thus far and, although I'm not mechanically minded, I've not found much about it that isn't in great shape. I've had it vin-checked by the police, so I know it was his to give.