Fuse Size


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
goodoni
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 12:29 pm
Location: Brighton, Michigan
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200I Interstate

Fuse Size

Postby goodoni » Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:21 pm



Hello Wingers,

As I mentioned in previous post, I'm not an electrical guy.
I have an 84 Interstate, I am adding a 12V accessory outlet for my phone/Garmin.
I'm planning on having an inline fuse but I don't what size fuse to plan for.
Thanks for the advise.

Ride Safe
Goodoni



User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Fuse Size

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:37 pm

You fuse by the wire size not the devices.
If you run a 28 gauge wire don't put in a 15 amp fuse,
You can however use a smaller fuse.
For a phone/gps unit I would run a #14 wire and fuse it at 5 to 7.5 amp...10 amp max.
Also fuse it right close to where you get the power from.it's of no use to fuse the back of the plug.you want to protect the wire.

User avatar
goodoni
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 12:29 pm
Location: Brighton, Michigan
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200I Interstate

Re: Fuse Size

Postby goodoni » Wed Mar 20, 2013 2:40 pm

virgilmobile wrote:You fuse by the wire size not the devices.
If you run a 28 gauge wire don't put in a 15 amp fuse,
You can however use a smaller fuse.
For a phone/gps unit I would run a #14 wire and fuse it at 5 to 7.5 amp...10 amp max.
Also fuse it right close to where you get the power from.it's of no use to fuse the back of the plug.you want to protect the wire.


Virgilmobile,

Thanks, that help a lot.

Ride safe,
Goodoni


Return to “GL1200 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests