Needing help with Hondaline CB

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
refuelman
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 Aspencade

Needing help with Hondaline CB

Postby refuelman » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:24 pm

I am new to the Goldwing line. I have got an 1984 Aspencade, the CB comes on and the radio works fine even the auto volume. I do not have any head sets to use, I was told that I could still hear the CB through the radio speakers. Can anyone help?
Thanks, Joe in Oklahoma

k1w1t1m
Motorcycle: 1980 GL1100 Interstate. 105,000miles and still going strong.(sold)
2001 BMW R1150 GS (possibly for sale soon)
1997 Gl1500 SE in pearl sapphire black.

Re: Needing help with Hondaline CB

Postby k1w1t1m » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:30 am

If it's like the 1100s then yes you should be able to hear the CB through the speakers. Have you tried adjusting the squelch control, you should hear static towards one end of it's adjustment.
I know there are user manuals for the 1100 audio, have you checked for 1200 manuals?

tricky

Postby tricky » Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:25 pm

On the radio there is a knob for selecting headset or speakers.

try that

refuelman

Postby refuelman » Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:26 pm

Thanks for the reply, yes I have tried the squelch both was with no sound coming out of speakers other than the radio it self. I have looked and found a wiring and installation manual, but have not found a operators manual.
Yes, I know about the head set knob. What do I need to do with it, the CB has one as does the radio.
Thanks Joe

tricky

Postby tricky » Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:40 pm

If the CB is working, when you have the radio on, coming through the speakers and you receive a transmission (RX should show on the CB) the Radio should cut out and the cb sound should come through the speakers.

Even if there is no actual transmission if you turn the squelch knob on the CB it should activate the multichanger box and cut out the radio.