radio only static


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Wed Apr 10, 2013 4:41 pm



I have a problem with my radio. It only plays static, but the cb works fine.i checked all conn. And everything is in order and clean. If I cant find out whats wrong im taking it all out and installing a marine radio w/ a very small amp that has hardly any current draw so it wont overload charging system. Any help would be grateful.



User avatar
86pearlblue
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Hartford, Connecticut
Motorcycle: 1986 gl1200a

Re: radio only static

Postby 86pearlblue » Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:22 pm

It may be the automatic signal interupter. On the left side under the faux tank, you'll find a little box where the antenna comes in and there's two outputs (one to CB, one to stereo). You can find suitable replacements at a car stereo place. Also, make sure your LO/DX switch on the stereo is set to DX (it boosts the incoming signal).

Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

Re: radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:28 pm

Thank you. As soon as it stops raining I'll check it out.

Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

Re: radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Thu Apr 11, 2013 1:13 pm

It has two antennas, with one antenna going to each hookup, one for cb and radio. Im out of idea's.

User avatar
86pearlblue
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Hartford, Connecticut
Motorcycle: 1986 gl1200a

Re: radio only static

Postby 86pearlblue » Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:37 pm

And you're sure all the antenna connections are clean, and you have the LO/DX set to DX? And have you traced the antenna wires from end to end to make sure it's not damaged etc.? The only other thing I can suggest is to test with an old car antenna hooked to the stereo and see if it's the stereo itself that's bad. Does the cassette work? I almost never use the radio... I installed a signal switch to play my ipod through the stereo, but the radio does work... I also found that the after market communications that were installed had some issues and would interfere with the radio, so I removed all of that as I don't need much bike to bike comms. The CB is basically just filling a hole at this point! :lol:

Good Luck!

Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

Re: radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:03 pm

Everything is ok with the antenna wires. I've already checked it with another antenna. I've decided I'm pulling all out and putting in a marine cd player. Don't use the cb anyway. Ive already made a nice aluminum cover for the cb hole. Thanks for your help

User avatar
86pearlblue
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Hartford, Connecticut
Motorcycle: 1986 gl1200a

Re: radio only static

Postby 86pearlblue » Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:43 pm

Sorry dude. I was actually thinking the same thing for mine. Haven't found one yet that has a small hardwired remote for the handle bars. May have to do without...

Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

Re: radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:57 am

I'm removing the controls from the handle bar. I'm already made a mounting bracket for the wireless controller on the faux cover. It's a clean look and very easy to access, without reaching forward.

BigBro
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 9:33 am
Location: Port Orchard, Wa and John Day, Oregon
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200i Interstate

Re: radio only static

Postby BigBro » Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:03 am

Mind if I ask what Radio are you using for that modification?

Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

Re: radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:13 am

Boss mr1400 marine radio. Have the same one in my boat and love it. I've never had a problem with it.

BigBro
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 9:33 am
Location: Port Orchard, Wa and John Day, Oregon
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200i Interstate

Re: radio only static

Postby BigBro » Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:27 am

Can you provide Radio dimensions and also you mention a wireless controller. I don't see that as an option.

Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

Re: radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:38 am

It does come with a wireless controller. It is a standard din size. It is smaller than the one on the bike. The height is the same depth is the same but it is about 1/2-3/4 shorter in width than the factory one.

Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

Re: radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:46 pm

But I wouldn't advise anyone to do this! Unless your very good at wiring and custom fabrication. It is not a easy fix. But not as expensive by any means if I would replace with factory gear. The plus after your done you can choose any marine radio or regular radio w/cover. When I'm completely done I will put pic's up.

BigBro
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 9:33 am
Location: Port Orchard, Wa and John Day, Oregon
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200i Interstate

Re: radio only static

Postby BigBro » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:14 pm

Thanks Honker91 I get that.
As mine works good when it does, but not always I am doing the thorough check over of everything possible first.
If it were working 100% I would just add an MP3/Aux hookup to it.

Yours sounds more like a failed RF frontend and that is rarely worth fixing with good results. imo.

Having done some significant custom installations in the past this is well within my skill set.

Even been seriously looking at the schematics to determine if there is a way to incorporate pieces and parts of the existing system into an aftermarket installation.
Particularly the Auto Volume Control (AVC) gain control. That one appears possible although it would require significant modification of an audio amp to incorporate the gain control feature in. Not insurmountable but alas probably more than I want to take on at this time.

Changing out the Audio Amp section from the 12W per channel stock system that incorporates the AVC gain feature to an aftermarket is possible but would still require some significant modification. However, with todays head end units reaching up to 50W rms per channel all of that seems redundant unless you were trying to run say 100+ W per channel which for a 4" speaker is not really a good use of a power budget...

Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

Re: radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:12 pm

. Here's the install not quite finished but unit is in. Went with my jvc cd. Went will. And the factory lock does work on it. Quite difficult on that, but not to bad. Wiring easy. Used the power and plug off factory. Simply plug and play. Had to heavily modify the unit support and tig welded new supports in. If u cant tig weld dont try. You need the support, once the factory one is cut.

BigBro
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 9:33 am
Location: Port Orchard, Wa and John Day, Oregon
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200i Interstate

Re: radio only static

Postby BigBro » Sun Apr 14, 2013 2:13 pm

That looks really nice in there. I am assuming that you bypassed the stock amplification and the AVC unit?

Did you take any pics as you were building this up?
It can be very helpful to someone considering the same type of modification so they don't have to reinvent the wheel.
From what I can see you did go down the path I was noodling should I decide to change out the stock system.
Not in terms of actual components but actually reusing the stock mounting configuration.

Honker91
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:03 pm
Location: continental ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 aspencade gl 1200

Re: radio only static

Postby Honker91 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 2:30 pm

All of the stock system was removed. Radio amp cb etc. Used the power feed plug from the factory unit. 12+, switched12+, and ground. Its the red three wire plug. So it follows the same route as factory wiring. Simple plug it into factory plug and done and clean inside the cowl. And if someone wanted to add a small amp there's plenty of room. I did not take pics as I was building. Sorry. When I get a chance I will remove and take close pics of everything. I did drive it and it performed as I expected it would. Never messed with the radio, besides to change channel. So I guess I really never missed the avc. Would do it again. No regrets




Return to “GL1200 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest