Gearshift sensor and timing advance

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: 1987 GL1200I Interstate

Gearshift sensor and timing advance

Postby Davethemotorhead » Sun Aug 04, 2013 1:13 pm

Hello, I am a forum newbie and found goldwing docs while searching for info for my 87 GL 1200 interstate. The bike had a number of issues when it was purchased last year. And most issues have been resolved and the bike is running mush better. What I am trying to solve now is poor power and acceleration at highway speed (65 and above) and/or climing an incline. I have read that the 1200"s like higher RPM and on your typical 2 lane, if you drop it to 4th it takes off. But if your at highway speed on an incline and roll the throttle it stumbles as if it is not in time. I've come across posts on checking ignition and timing components and have started this process. I checked the gearshift selector sensor by unpluging the sensor wire below the instrument panel and checking continuity through the Sensor plug side Lg/R neutral, R/W 4th gear and G/O overdrive wires. All tested fine which brings me to my questions. 1st on the wiring harness side of the connection what wires carry current? 2nd how does the shift sensor send the electric signal to the ignition contol unit? For reference I have power from the wireing harness plug in the Lg/r (N) and G/O (od) wires. There is no power in theR/W (4th) when the ignition is turne on.
Thanks for any help!!!!

Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200i Interstate

Re: Gearshift sensor and timing advance

Postby BigBro » Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:11 am

Hi Dave, Welcome to the forum.
In reading your post not sure which way you are looking exactly.
Might be a good start to give a little history of what you have done to the ride since you got it.
Some of the things we all get into can also create problems for ourselves on these older rides.