Rear brake problem could use some info

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
legacymps
Motorcycle: business

Rear brake problem could use some info

Postby legacymps » Thu Feb 06, 2014 2:39 pm

Hi i have a friend of mine gl1200 Interstate 1985 trying to help bleed his brakes we replaced right front and rear caliper seals cleaned pistons, rebuilt master cylinder aswell, we bleed right front brake by pushing fluid in reverse with a magura bleeder and we even tried vacuum sucker to front then rear brake caliper, master cylinder we also flushed out air out of master cylinder by cracking front line first then rear line and then re bleed system again just to make sure all air is out we can pump master cylinder up nice and hard then wait not even 5-10 seconds and it goes all the way to the floor when we reapply pressure im stumped anyone ever run into this im not just a garage tech im actually a certified tech who does this for a living but goldwings i really dont touch much but this here is a new one for me im actually stumped. i did as far on front to remove caliper place a piece of metal between pads and raised in the air about handle bars to make sure air came out. any ideas anyone

Dusty Boots
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500Aspencade

Re: Rear brake problem could use some info

Postby Dusty Boots » Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:10 pm

Sometimes tying the brake pedal down and leaving it that way overnight works, as long as all the fittings are good n tight. (not leaking).

legacymps
Motorcycle: business

Postby legacymps » Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:12 pm