choke cable install

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 4:30 pm
Location: Bainbridge Ohio
Motorcycle: 1985 Honda Goldwing 1200 Interstate

choke cable install

Postby BigAl » Mon May 10, 2010 4:55 pm

How do I install a new choke cable on 1985 Honda Goldwing Interstate? I have the cable

User avatar
Posts: 2582
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:57 am
Motorcycle: 98 SE GL 1500
had every year from 75 to 83

Re: choke cable install

Postby RBGERSON » Mon May 10, 2010 5:29 pm

NEVER done a 1200 but on 1000's and 1100's tie a string to the bottom of the old cable pull it through then tie new cable to the string and pull it up through the bike..helps to have the "tank" open and air box out to help guide the cable .
Last edited by RBGERSON on Tue May 11, 2010 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.


User avatar
Posts: 1831
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:21 am
Location: Plano, TX
Motorcycle: 2004 GL1800, 2005 Honda Shadow 750, 2008 Yamaha R6 with RG500 engine, CRF450X, CRF230, CRF250X, XR200, CR500

Re: choke cable install

Postby thrasherg » Tue May 11, 2010 9:14 am

I do something similar to RB, I use a small cable tie to attatch the handlebar end of the new clutch cable to the clutch end of the old cable (Just put the two cables side by side and then wrap a cable tie or sticky tape around them) then as I pull the old cable out, it pulls the new one in and follows the exact same path. It does need some carefull wriggling and occasionally I have to remove a panel or two, but it seems to work well, then cut the cable tie, attatch both ends of the new cable and you are done.


Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:18 pm
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 1984 GoldWing Interstate

Re: choke cable install

Postby kamirider » Tue May 11, 2010 5:18 pm

If the '85 is the same as the '84 then I think you have a big job ahead of you. I have been looking at my '84 a lot lately. The only way I can see getting at the cable is to remove the garbs. The cable seems to be attached under the air intake toward the front. The space between the carbs and the fire wall is just too limited to get in to take the cable of and reinstall.But I am open to suggestions.

Return to “GL1200 Information & Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], grand rouge, Rednaxs60 and 3 guests