New owner of an old 'Wing

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
fixeverything
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200 Interstate

New owner of an old 'Wing

Postby fixeverything » Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:50 pm

Just brought home an '86 Interstate. Not my first bike, my first shaft drive bike, or even my first Honda, so I'm familiar with the maintenance I'm going to need to do.

First on the list is new plugs, wires, oil and filter, air filter, fuel filter, coolant flush, and dif fluid. I was lucky to get the bike with an almost new rear tire, so at least I don't have to play tetris anytime soon. I'm a mechanic by trade, but I deal mostly with cars and small engine (mowers, blowers, etc). Bikes are still fairly new to me.

Previous owner said the stator was replaced 4 years ago, new battery last spring, and he parked it after it stopped charging sometime last year. I'm going to get it running again and start testing everything, see if its the stator, regulator, or something else. Odds are I'm going to end up with an alternator conversion. Which brings me to my first question.

Has anyone considered using the GL1500 alternator for the conversion? I was looking and found them in a few amperage sizes, including 60 and 90 amp. They're pretty small, not really any different in price than a car alt, and I don't see why a V-belt pulley couldn't be put in place of the rotor.

Next up, I've been looking over the bike, seeing what all I'm going to update or change. Already planning on swapping out for all the rear lighting possible (trunk lights), and will convert the whole bike over to LED. I have a question about the front lighting on the bike.

Do the clear housings on each side of the headlight light up? I found a light on eBay, and it looks like the outers are supposed to be city lights?

Among all my other maintenance and modding, I plan to rebuild the forks with Progressive springs, and am liking what they have for rear shock options as well.