fuel pump relay?

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
18xray
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200I Interstate

fuel pump relay?

Postby 18xray » Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:55 am

re '84 GL1200I - I am getting no power to the fuel pump. Both lines feeding the relay show positive power going into the relay but nothing comes out. The coils seem to test OK as does the ignition control. The fuel pump runs when the relay is bypassed. I replaced the relay that came with the bike with a used one which corrected nothing. I obtained a new relay and still get nothing out to the fuel pump. Is it possible I possess 3 bad relays or is it something else? Note: When I bought the bike, it did not run. I am not a mechanic (although was a Huey crew chief once) but have followed instructions provided in both Haynes and Clymer. I'm ready to fire her up...if I can get fuel to the carbs and to get fuel to the carbs, I need to get power to the fuel pump.

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: fuel pump relay?

Postby WingAdmin » Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:58 am

What did you do to bypass the relay? If you pull the relay out, and short the contact connectors in the relay socket, does the pump run?

18xray

Postby 18xray » Wed Apr 02, 2014 12:10 pm

I just went out and retested. I ground the pump (green wire). When I connect the black wire (before relay) to the pump, it works. When I connect the blue/yellow wire to the pump, I get nothing. Where it gets weird is that a multimeter indicates power from BOTH the B and BL/Y. Is my bike haunted?

WingAdmin
Site Admin
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)

Postby WingAdmin » Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:04 pm