radio location


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
Post Reply
ndgrown
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:03 pm
Location: Starbuck, Minnesota
Motorcycle: 1984 gl1200 goldwing

radio location

Post by ndgrown » Thu May 22, 2014 8:20 pm



on my 84 interstate the radio is on the left lower fairing. want to move it up to the center under windshield but there is some silver box where the radio would go. any suggestions?



User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 18112
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: radio location

Post by WingAdmin » Fri May 23, 2014 9:41 am

Are you talking about an aftermarket (i.e. automotive style) radio?

ndgrown
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:03 pm
Location: Starbuck, Minnesota
Motorcycle: 1984 gl1200 goldwing

Re: radio location

Post by ndgrown » Fri May 23, 2014 5:21 pm

No the existing radio looks to be factory

Wayne
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:52 am
Location: Troy, Oh, & The Villages, Fl.
Motorcycle: 2000 Valkyrie Tourer Ohio
2008 GL1800 Level 3 White Ohio
2015 GL1800 Level 3 Red/Black Anniversary Fl

Re: radio location

Post by Wayne » Mon May 26, 2014 6:05 pm

No such thing as factory installed radio on 84 Interstate.
Scott, I have seen a few of the Clarion Type 1 & 2 units cobbled onto 1200's
Need images

ndgrown
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:03 pm
Location: Starbuck, Minnesota
Motorcycle: 1984 gl1200 goldwing

Re: radio location

Post by ndgrown » Wed May 28, 2014 8:56 pm

Here is a picture of the radio
Attachments



shaggy0911
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:19 pm
Location: aberdeen,south dakota
Motorcycle: 1985 Interstate

Re: radio location

Post by shaggy0911 » Thu May 29, 2014 12:21 am

I bought an aftermarket radio on eBay. It doesn't have a CD player it's none mech. It has a usb and a card slot , I put it were the radio was.

Wayne
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:52 am
Location: Troy, Oh, & The Villages, Fl.
Motorcycle: 2000 Valkyrie Tourer Ohio
2008 GL1800 Level 3 White Ohio
2015 GL1800 Level 3 Red/Black Anniversary Fl

Re: radio location

Post by Wayne » Thu May 29, 2014 7:04 am

What you have is a 1980 Hondaline Type 1 Clarion radio system. You might want to consider a mount like this,
http://www.sierra-mc.com/proddetail.asp ... IE-RM-GL12

ndgrown
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:03 pm
Location: Starbuck, Minnesota
Motorcycle: 1984 gl1200 goldwing

Re: radio location

Post by ndgrown » Thu May 29, 2014 4:42 pm

Is there a mount for the current location or does it have to go under speedo. There is a silver box of some sort where the radio should be

ndgrown
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:03 pm
Location: Starbuck, Minnesota
Motorcycle: 1984 gl1200 goldwing

Re: radio location

Post by ndgrown » Thu May 29, 2014 4:43 pm

Why is there a 1980 radio on a 84

shaggy0911
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:19 pm
Location: aberdeen,south dakota
Motorcycle: 1985 Interstate

Re: radio location

Post by shaggy0911 » Thu May 29, 2014 8:35 pm

Should go in your dash under Speedo and tach. Do you have a pic of your dash? Are you sure yours is a 1200?

Wayne
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:52 am
Location: Troy, Oh, & The Villages, Fl.
Motorcycle: 2000 Valkyrie Tourer Ohio
2008 GL1800 Level 3 White Ohio
2015 GL1800 Level 3 Red/Black Anniversary Fl

Re: radio location

Post by Wayne » Thu May 29, 2014 8:49 pm

That is what I was wondering if it was an 84 1200 std with an 1100 fairing. I have seen that also. I don't understand what you are referring to about a metal box. Need more images.

ndgrown
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:03 pm
Location: Starbuck, Minnesota
Motorcycle: 1984 gl1200 goldwing

Re: radio location

Post by ndgrown » Thu May 29, 2014 10:59 pm

Will post more pic tomorrow

User avatar
bassmaster42
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:56 am
Location: somerset,wi
Motorcycle: 1985 gl1200 interstate

Re: radio location

Post by bassmaster42 » Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:40 pm

WingAdmin wrote:Are you talking about an aftermarket (i.e. automotive style) radio?
so putting a aftermarket auto stereo is under the speed o is ok to do??



Post Reply