86 Aspencade Noise Filter

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
scrbowler
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200 Aspencade

86 Aspencade Noise Filter

Postby scrbowler » Sun May 23, 2010 2:38 pm

I'm new to the Goldwing world and have a question I cannot seem to find an answer for.

I purchased this bike non-running with a charging problem that was conveyed as possible stator or regulator issue. In troubleshooting the problems I notice when we got the bike running is that smoke (electrical) was coming out of the lower rear most part of the noise filter that is bolted to the regulator on the left side under the false tank. The wiring becomes very hot coming out of the noise filter.
What is the purpose of the noise filter and can it be bypassed? The larger connector block has been burned and thus removed and hardwired. The bad thing is we do not know what wires would hook into the existing wires if we have to replace the noise filter? Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

thanks
Steve

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: 86 Aspencade Noise Filter

Postby WingAdmin » Mon May 24, 2010 11:46 am

The noise filter does just that - it filters noise from the rectifier output so that you don't hear it in the radio and intercom. Capacitors (which is what this is, essentially) do eventually wear out and fail. You can disconnect it, but you'll get more noise in the radio and intercom.

Which component is it that is getting hot?

GL1200 Filter
GL1200 Filter

The parts manual shows three things on the bike in this area:

16 - Part 31610-MG9-931 Filter Kit, Radio Noise
17 - Part 31620-ML8-770 Filter, Regulate Rectifier
18 - Part 31630-ML8-770 Filter, Line

Looks like 16 is the "kit" which consists of parts 17 and 18.

scrbowler

Postby scrbowler » Mon May 24, 2010 1:00 pm