Electrical help?

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
rosey1
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200L Goldwing

Electrical help?

Postby rosey1 » Tue May 25, 2010 12:19 am

I recently added the Poorboy kit and I wired it to an electrical souce that I thought was okay but in fact was a big no no. The igniter source wire I used was the white wire going into the trip meter box. I have since fried the stereo, and gauges as neither works and the battery went dead. I checked all the fuses and they seem okay but I fear I may have messed up royally. I'm a mechanic by trade and I should have known better but if anyone has any suggestions that could keep me from a total rewire I'd sure appreciate it.

tricky

Re: Electrical help?

Postby tricky » Tue May 25, 2010 9:14 pm

For starters, did you check the fuses in the left pocket? That's if there are any there on the LTD
edit.... there is a 7.5 amp fuse in the left pocket...(but I think that is only for memory to the radio)

C27 is the red connector in the left pocket run the checks in the picture
Attachments

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Postby WingAdmin » Wed May 26, 2010 1:27 pm

I spent about ten minutes going blind trying to follow that white wire through the 1200 LTD schematic to see what it's connected to...and the answer is, "an awful lot." :) If I'm not mistaken, it is powered when the fuel pump turns on (fuse & relay 5, I believe). Other things are hooked to it as well though - I don't know if they are powered all the time or not.

You should have connected the alternator exciter directly to one of the "ON" leads from the ignition switch (black wire), but you probably know that now.

rosey1

Postby rosey1 » Thu May 27, 2010 6:55 am