no fuel to right side of carbs

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
Kirker
Motorcycle: 1985 Honda GL1200 Interstate

no fuel to right side of carbs

Postby Kirker » Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:38 pm

Hi this is my first time ever on a site like this. So please help. I was given a 1985 Interstate gl 1200. It has about 72000 miles. Have done some work on her. But sometimes only getting fuel to right side of carbs. I have spark to all sides. I had carbs taken off and boiled out. I also replaced fuel lines, fuel filter, tested fuel flow and pressure on fuel pump. Replaced fuel cut off relay(didn't pass the test). Replaced the "bonefuse" with 30amp blade fuse. Thanks for any help on this...

HawkeyeGL1200
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 Interstate
1981 GL1100 Interstate

Re: no fuel to right side of carbs

Postby HawkeyeGL1200 » Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:52 pm

I had the same problem, and mine ended up being the fuel pump. If you've already flow tested (curious as to how much flow you measured), then I'm not sure what else to check. Fuel screens inside the tank could be loaded up, I suppose, but I doubt it. Does your tank cap hold pressure? You can try running the engine with the cap loose, not that I believe it would fix the problem, but if it is plugged and not allowing air into the tank to replace the space of fuel used a vacuum can reduce pump output. Again, unlikely, but worth checking.
I am wrong as often as I am right concerning what is wrong with someone else' motorcycle without having seen the machine in person. Guessing with limited information, as to the source of the trouble, is sketchy at best.

Kirker

Postby Kirker » Sun Oct 19, 2014 3:02 pm