Cracked fairing and deleting radio questions.

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: '86 Aspy

Cracked fairing and deleting radio questions.

Postby eskachig » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:47 pm

Hello, I recently joined the 'Wing brotherhood, and could use some advice about where to go with this well-running but quirky '86 Aspy that I sort of inherited. It runs great, but there are definitely some issues that I'd like to tackle. Basically, the PO created a janky stereo setup that I'd like to remove, and the CB radio stuff (the wiring for which he snipped) is hanging on by a single screw. The fairing is cracked in that region as well.

I have made some maintenance plans that are important for making the bike nicer and safer, but this setup is so rattly and irritating that I kind of want to take care of it first. But I'm kind of hesitant about what should be done. I'm an okish hobbyist mechanic (hoping to get better - signed up for maintenance classes starting next week), but I'm not very flexible when directions and manuals end. I'm not sure whether I should be looking for a transplant fairing, or if I should glue this one up. I don't really need either the stereo or the non-functional CB stuff so I'd like to just take them out. Any advice for fabricating coverplates for the holes and dealing with the wrecked mounts? Is it going to upset the bike's balance?

Any advice would be welcome, as I'm kind of stumped.

The bike rides reasonably well (could probably use a suspension rebuild, forks are sagging a bit - but everything works and the compressor is functional), but I cringe at every bump with this madness.

Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

Re: Cracked fairing and deleting radio questions.

Postby alanc1100 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:48 pm