Unable to start 85 Wing- LTD 1200

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
whtent85LTD
Motorcycle: 1985 Goldwing 1200 LTD

Unable to start 85 Wing- LTD 1200

Postby whtent85LTD » Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:17 am

Hello everyone ! This is Al from 'Beautiful British Columbia'. (right near US border at Blaine Wa). Damn that HST (happy July 01)
Is everyone going to relax as well as celebrate CANADA DAY? ENJOY the sunshine in your area !!!
I really hope someone can help me out. Yes, I'm a newbie and a frustrated one right now.
I am unable to start my 85 GW. Yes, there's gas, switch set to run.
** I also put switch to OFF as per manual...to clear any flooding, and cranked it for about 5 sec or so.
* When I hit the start button, the starter appears to be working, there's just no engine starting.
* I made sure the fuel value is in the on position
* I recharged the battery and even put a charger on it
... set the charger switch to both 12volt and 75amp ? (for the booster- short bursts on charge to try to start)
* same problem
* Oil light is on (at startup), other two lights go off after cranking- ie. Fuel red light and Fuel system red light.
* current condition- charging via 2amp trickle charge overnight. (june30)

* last time I ran motorcycle was on Sunday. Had to charge somewhat to get it running then as initial starting
didn't work. Fuel system red light stayed on for a bit. Then later went off when I later restarted bike on its own. (1-2 hrs later)
Any info someone may provide to help me out would be very welcome.
Thanks,
Al

Al
south Surrey,BC

actionpack
Motorcycle: 1985 gl1200a

Re: Unable to start 85 Wing- LTD 1200

Postby actionpack » Thu Jul 01, 2010 6:17 am

so engine spins freely but a no go on starting , guess first thing u need to do is see if u got spark at the plugs , if so u need to check for fuel problem , but first check for spark

thomas
Motorcycle: 2002 1800
Goldwing

Postby thomas » Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:03 pm