Gas bubbling or boiling

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
wcorson322
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 limited edition

Gas bubbling or boiling

Postby wcorson322 » Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:46 pm

Hello all,
I am a newbie on here. lots of great info has helped me alot. just did a poorboy install on a
85 GL1200L. that was an expericence,,,lol but here is my question I went for a ride today temp about 87 degrees out.cooling system full and working great. but I kept getting gas fume smell thought perhaps I had a leak. pulled over to check it over and nada. opened the fuel door and my cap was farting (well that what I was calling it) so I slowly opened it had pressure on it not alot but I think is supposed to have some pressure but not 100% sure. anyway looked in the fuel tank and it was bubbling or boiling idk. scared the heck out of me felt like I might have a big bomb between my legs. never saw that happen on a bike before and I am new to goldwings. oh when I went to restart it is bogged and sputter would not pull out. have not checked it yet letting her cool down. any ideas and sorry i got long winded there. :shock:

Aussie81Interstate
Motorcycle: 1982 CX500 Turbo (restoration project)
1981 GL1100 Interstate (sold)
1988 GL1500

Re: Gas bubbling or boiling

Postby Aussie81Interstate » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:32 pm

Have not heard of fuel bubbling before, have had an issue of building up bit of pressure and a slight whoosh on opening the fuel cap.

I would be a little concerned if it continued.

If the motor is overheting I suppose it could radiate heat back to the fuel tank - but surely not enough to make the fuel boil ?

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Postby WingAdmin » Thu Jun 11, 2015 12:47 pm