No power to fuel pump wires


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
david4752
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Greensburg, IN
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

No power to fuel pump wires

Postby david4752 » Mon Sep 14, 2015 10:56 am



I put a new fuel pump and fuel lines, also filter on '86 Aspy now no power to wires to pump. Where is relay? I checked the fuse and good.



User avatar
david4752
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Greensburg, IN
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

Re: No power to fuel pump wires

Postby david4752 » Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:05 am

Did some searching in forum and found answer. Thanks for such a good forum to find answers.

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7660
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: No power to fuel pump wires

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:08 am

On my 84 carb model,the fuel pump "relay" energizes the pulse fuel pump only when there is spark.There is not continuous voltage feeding the pump.
Thus,no spark,no power to run the pump.
I used a test light on the line feeding the pump as the bike was running..the only time it lite was when the pump pulsed.

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7660
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: No power to fuel pump wires

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:10 am

Sorry..posted at the same time.What did you find.Can you link to it?

User avatar
david4752
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:21 pm
Location: Greensburg, IN
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

Re: No power to fuel pump wires

Postby david4752 » Tue Sep 15, 2015 9:14 am

I searched this site and found the same info that you Virgilmobile gave me so I will put all together and test for leaks and test for leaks, and then test for leaks again. I seen the photo at the end of the post from Wingadmin.




Return to “GL1200 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests