Can't get the Front wheel off

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
tbeiler
Motorcycle: 1986 Goldwing Aspencade,
1985 Goldwing LTD
1983 CX650 Turbo

Can't get the Front wheel off

Postby tbeiler » Sun Nov 22, 2015 7:13 pm

Guys / Gals
I am removing my front wheel to get new tire installed on an 86 Aspencade. I've never done this before on the Aspy so I'm learning as I go.
Got the calipers off no problem and hung them up out of the way.
I also have these hideous disc covers with some lights around the circumference and it was this disc cover that was almost obscuring the single screw to get the speed sensor off. Anyway its off now after checking the Haynes manual and when laying down on the garage floor looking past the small opening on the disc cover. The Honda service manual isn't very explicit, it just says remove the speed sensor. Anyway, that part is done now.
Pulled off the axle holders, jacked up the bike, but do you think that I could get the wheel off. It seems hung up on the left side (when sitting on bIke), the right side is ready to drop out. I don't want to force anything so came to the forum to ask for help.
I loosened the axle nut slighlty but it didn't make a difference (there is clearance between axle nut and fork leg, so its not holding up there).
I'm sure it has something to do with those crazy disc covers, I can't really see how they are attached. They are made of steel, checked by magnet.
Anyway stumped for now. Any ideas?
Cannot figure out how to get a picture on here. If you pm me I can send an email to any helpers out there. Thanks.

skier
Motorcycle: 1987 GL1200I 124k
2009 Honda Silverwing 14k -- the wife's scooter

Re: Can't get the Front wheel off

Postby skier » Sun Nov 22, 2015 8:41 pm

Have you removed the axle nut and slid the axle out?

tbeiler
1985 Goldwing LTD
1983 CX650 Turbo

Postby tbeiler » Sun Nov 22, 2015 9:24 pm