which volt meter for my 84?


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
crimsonwing
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 4:05 pm
Location: san diego, CA
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200I Interstate

which volt meter for my 84?

Postby crimsonwing » Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:08 pm



hey all, i really need a voltmeter. Which ones do you recommend? something inexpensive, reliable and easy to install please.



User avatar
Overdog
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Motorcycle: 83 Goldwing Interstate

74 BMW R90/6

Re: which volt meter for my 84?

Postby Overdog » Thu Apr 14, 2016 7:47 pm

I got an analog gauge at Harbor Freight for about 8 bucks. I wired it to the accessory terminals so when the ignition is on, the gauge and the light in the gauge are both on. It's a few tenths of a volt off when checked with a multimeter but I don't care about actual voltage....the gauge is there to tell at a glance if the system is charging or not. Before that, I had a digital meter (LCD, I believe) that simply plugged into the cigarette lighter. It worked well but was invisible in the light of day.

User avatar
NVSB4
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:39 pm
Location: Arlington, Texas
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500SE
1992 GL1500I (sold)
1986 GL1200A (sold)
2002 HD FXDL Low Rider (sold)
1993 Yamaha Virago XV1000 (sold)
Too many others to list

Re: which volt meter for my 84?

Postby NVSB4 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:09 pm

I bought a small DROK waterproof LED one off Amazon for less than $10 that has done well.
It's never too late to have a happy childhood!

Image

Image
Red=All bikes Blue=Wings

Chris

crimsonwing
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 4:05 pm
Location: san diego, CA
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200I Interstate

Re: which volt meter for my 84?

Postby crimsonwing » Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:12 am

thanks guys, ill consider those two for sure, both look reliable

User avatar
keithg64
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: Geneseo, IL
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 Pearl Coranado Blue

Re: which volt meter for my 84?

Postby keithg64 » Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:24 pm

Mini digital volt meter from cyclemax. I also have the ambient air temperature gauge that's the same size .


http://cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/mini_le ... r/129/4231
It's not what you buy, it's what you build.

crimsonwing
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 4:05 pm
Location: san diego, CA
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200I Interstate

Re: which volt meter for my 84?

Postby crimsonwing » Fri Apr 22, 2016 5:23 pm

i got a nice one off amazaon. i forgot to ask, how did you all do the wiring? i thought you had to wire it directly to the battery but i'm seeing videos of people doing it to the fusebox instead.

User avatar
SilverDave
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:39 am
Location: Langley, BC
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 GoldWing Aspy

Re: which volt meter for my 84?

Postby SilverDave » Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:11 am

I got one like this, but vertical style :

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Car-Motorcycle-L ... 2c&vxp=mtr

I It doesn't matter the accuracy ... But it should be "off" when key is off, and directly wired to the battery, not elsewhere with voltage drops ..
I used a relay from my EC Harness to ensure its really " off" when machine is parked ..

A " Friend " commented .." This is nothing but a vertical bunch of " Idiot" lights . LOL... and exactly so !!

On a 1200, all I want to know is if the battery/stator is healthy ( Green ) or not ( Orange / red ) .
I don't care if its 13.8 or 13.6 volts ...
I want one with just a quick glance while driving ... and this is perfect .

Eyes mostly on the road is my motto ..

SilverDave

DoorCountyWI
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:51 pm
Location: Sturgeon Bay, WI
Motorcycle: 1986 Aspencade

Re: which volt meter for my 84?

Postby DoorCountyWI » Sat Apr 23, 2016 11:27 am

crimsonwing wrote:i got a nice one off amazaon. i forgot to ask, how did you all do the wiring? i thought you had to wire it directly to the battery but i'm seeing videos of people doing it to the fusebox instead.


I wired mine to the accessory terminals in my fuse box. It worked out very well and is fused for an added bonus. I also bought one off of Amazon. So far it is working very well. Good luck!




Return to “GL1200 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Streit5 and 2 guests