86 Aspencade clock fuse


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
TimWoodward
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:59 pm
Location: Naples, Fl
Motorcycle: 1986 Aspencade SEI

86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby TimWoodward » Sat Jun 04, 2016 5:12 pm



Can someone please school me on the location of the 7.5A fuse that supports the red wire between the starter relay/sol and the trip computer. She's not in the fuse panel or under the seat best I can see. Before I dig in or run a new circuit thought I might ask. 1986 Aspencade SEI "Goldie"



User avatar
twocams
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:25 am
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 Aspencade, 2003 K1200GT BMW, 1969 R69S BMW
Sold : 84 V65 Magna, 82 Moto Guzzi, XS 1100 Yamaha,84 Wing Int., 80 650 Special, Only new bike 82 XV750 Virago (Guam),Honda 250,84 R100RT BMW,87 K100 LT BMW,93 K1100 LT BMW, 91 535 Virago, Honda 50

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby twocams » Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:09 am

On my 85 there are 2 fuses in the left side pocket area. You need to take the 4 screws out and pull the plastic pocket out. There is a 7.5 fuse in there. not sure what it operates. just know its there.

twocams

TimWoodward
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:59 pm
Location: Naples, Fl
Motorcycle: 1986 Aspencade SEI

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby TimWoodward » Sun Jun 05, 2016 4:52 pm

You are correct sir. Found it this AM as I started to remove things. Mine happens to be a 3A so Clymers is a little off but what I found fascinating is the little OE pocket under the left glove box that contained a spare fuse. Wouldn't trade this bike for anything. Thanks Guys

User avatar
twocams
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:25 am
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 Aspencade, 2003 K1200GT BMW, 1969 R69S BMW
Sold : 84 V65 Magna, 82 Moto Guzzi, XS 1100 Yamaha,84 Wing Int., 80 650 Special, Only new bike 82 XV750 Virago (Guam),Honda 250,84 R100RT BMW,87 K100 LT BMW,93 K1100 LT BMW, 91 535 Virago, Honda 50

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby twocams » Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:16 pm

If the fuse blew 3A may not be enough for that location. Mine has a 7.5 A and if the book says 7.5 I would lean more toward the 7.5 myself. just my .02

twocams

User avatar
redial
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:17 am
Location: Kapunda, SouthAustralia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby redial » Tue Jun 07, 2016 10:55 pm

I think he meant the model of his GW is a 3A, not the amperage of the fuse. 8-)
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

tbeiler
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 1986 Goldwing Aspencade,
1985 Goldwing LTD
1983 CX650 Turbo

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby tbeiler » Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:16 am

I also have a 3 Amp fuse in mine, I have always wanted to ask this question, knowing that electrical schematic show a 7.5 A fuse. Maybe an earlier model 86 Aspy? or previous owner changed for whatever reason, My clock was not working when I bought the bike, but the wires needed repair from behind dash to clock that were chafed thru. Working good now with the 3A fuse. Anyone else have the 3A or should we be changing to 7.5 A fuse.

User avatar
twocams
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:25 am
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 Aspencade, 2003 K1200GT BMW, 1969 R69S BMW
Sold : 84 V65 Magna, 82 Moto Guzzi, XS 1100 Yamaha,84 Wing Int., 80 650 Special, Only new bike 82 XV750 Virago (Guam),Honda 250,84 R100RT BMW,87 K100 LT BMW,93 K1100 LT BMW, 91 535 Virago, Honda 50

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby twocams » Fri Jun 10, 2016 12:00 pm

On my 85 Aspy there is a sticker on top of each fuse holder that is typed out, 20A and the other 7.5A. it looks OEM from factory to me. But I would say use the 3 A if it does not blow. Can't hurt, its there to protect your clock, and whatever else is on that circuit.

twocams

walker70
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 2:53 am
Location: Headland,Alabama
Motorcycle: 1986 Honda Goldwing Aspencade

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby walker70 » Fri Jun 10, 2016 2:25 pm

I'm glad I found this post because my clock is not working and never thought about the fuse in the left pocket,I had been checking all other fuses but did not think of a fuse being there.

tbeiler
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 1986 Goldwing Aspencade,
1985 Goldwing LTD
1983 CX650 Turbo

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby tbeiler » Sat Jun 11, 2016 8:18 am

Can anyone explain why some bikes have the 3 amp fuse vs the 7.5?
My left pocket fuse holders also have a sticker on the top of the fuse holder, but are labelled 3A and 10 A. I have the 86 Aspy. Maybe different for the Sei as in original post.

User avatar
twocams
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:25 am
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 Aspencade, 2003 K1200GT BMW, 1969 R69S BMW
Sold : 84 V65 Magna, 82 Moto Guzzi, XS 1100 Yamaha,84 Wing Int., 80 650 Special, Only new bike 82 XV750 Virago (Guam),Honda 250,84 R100RT BMW,87 K100 LT BMW,93 K1100 LT BMW, 91 535 Virago, Honda 50

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby twocams » Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:13 am

My educated guess would be Mother Honda did some rewiring along the way. And are only using the 3 amp fuse to support only the clock. But I would have to look at a wire diagram to give you the whole story. :D

twocams

tbeiler
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 1986 Goldwing Aspencade,
1985 Goldwing LTD
1983 CX650 Turbo

Re: 86 Aspencade clock fuse

Postby tbeiler » Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:16 pm

Just to add to the confusion,
Clymer manual wiring diagram, (and Haynes as well), there is 3 and 10 Amp fuse for the 86 Aspy and the 86 Sei.
Apparently mine is correct.
Clymer for 84 Aspy is 7 and 20 Amp fuse.
Clymer for 85 Aspy shows fuses but no labels showing what Amperage they should be.
Looks like requirement changed somewhere after 84 or in 85 MY.
Anyone else?




Return to “GL1200 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest