1987 1200 Interstate Rear Wheel Change

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
kitesurfer805
Motorcycle: 1987 Honda Goldwing 1200 Interstate

1987 1200 Interstate Rear Wheel Change

Post by kitesurfer805 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:43 pm

I am new to motorcycles and recently bought a 1987 interstate and have been working through some handling issues. Both the front and rear wheel seemed to wobble and the handling is terrible. I did a bunch of work on the front end and it is better but right now I am working on the rear end. I am trying to change the rear tire and as usual I am have trouble. I have the tire all ready to remove and am currently trying to drive the axle out and the muffler is in the way. There is a you tube video and it says to let the tire drop and the axle will clear the muffler (under the muffler) but it not working for me (motorcycle is all stock by the way). The manual says to jack the up the tire and the axle will clear the top of the muffler but that does work either. Anybody have any ideas on this?

I am also a little confused on how the wheel actually comes out. The youtube video says to disconnect the drive shaft and part of the drive shaft comes out with the wheel but the manual says to slide the wheel to the left and then remove which implies the drive shaft stays in the motorcycle. I am not really clear on how the drive shaft hub connect to the wheel, as best I can tell is just sort of mates to it.

How does everyone else remove their rear wheel, why is this so difficult.
Attachments

kitesurfer805

Re: 1987 1200 Interstate Rear Wheel Change

Post by kitesurfer805 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:54 pm