installing a fuse block


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
Post Reply
User avatar
oldishwinger
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 11:26 pm
Location: New Zealand
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200 Aspencade

installing a fuse block

Post by oldishwinger » Wed May 30, 2018 10:02 pm



Hi folks, the acc screws on my 86 aspy look a bit like spaghetti junction, so I'm thinking about installing a fuse block to tidy up the situation.

I've never installed one of these things, can I wire one to the acc screws?

be gentle my knowledge on electrics is a bit shaky. lol

thanks



wiretician
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:41 am
Location: cartersville, ga
Motorcycle: 1987 GL1200I
1993 GL1500SE (gone, but not forgotten)

Re: installing a fuse block

Post by wiretician » Thu May 31, 2018 1:55 am

Sure you can, but bear in mind that the new block total amps are subject to the fuse protecting the ACC in the original fuse block. In the original that fuse is 10A. Now if your going to do like I am, putting a few LED lights on the bike. The 10A fuse is fine as a master to protect the new block. I've gotten 1's, 2's and 3's to go in mine. However, if you're going to put, H3 halogens, a hefty stereo system... You will have to change that 10A to something a little bigger. Also you have to be careful of wire size for the hefty amp sucking devices. LED's don't require very heavy wires, 20 to 18 gauge. Hope that helps you.
Experience in the Maintenance Field: Nothing is "Foolproof" to the Talented Fool. There are some that would break an anvil with a rubber mallet.

User avatar
DenverWinger
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:20 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Motorcycle: 1980 GL-1100 STD Vetter (2005-)
1993 GL-1500 Aspencade (2017-)
1983 Trav-Lite Camper (2010-)
Past rides
1972 CL-350 (1980-1988) sold
1978 Suzuki GS-550 (1985-2005) sold
1977 GL-1000 (2002-2006) sold

Re: installing a fuse block

Post by DenverWinger » Thu May 31, 2018 7:42 am

Better to power the fuse block directly from the battery. Then you can use whatever size fuse needed for the accessories without overloading the wiring harness. You can use a relay controlled from the accessory terminals to switch the fuse block on/off with the key.
They say 98% of all Hardleys ever made are still on the road..... The other 2% made it home. :lol:
(I stole this from somebody on another GW site...) :roll:

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 19059
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: installing a fuse block

Post by WingAdmin » Thu May 31, 2018 8:11 am

You might want to look at something like this:

http://electricalconnection.com/index.p ... use-block/

I have an earlier version of this unit on my GL1500. Apart from replacing the relay it comes with (which was garbage), it works great. It is powered directly from the battery, and it gets switched on by the accessory line when the bike turns on. It gets rid of the electrical spaghetti problem you have. I like how this version lets you use either mini or micro fuses as you like:




User avatar
Rednaxs60
Posts: 1649
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 LTD (X2), 2008 GL1800 (sold)

Re: installing a fuse block

Post by Rednaxs60 » Thu May 31, 2018 4:23 pm

I'd recommend doing what Honda did with the '85 LTD and '86 SEi bikes and that is a 30 amp circuit that is for the CFI from the battery terminal of the starter solenoid - works well. There is a good fuse block from Eastern Beaver that is a dual ground/power fuse block. I have installed it on my second '85 LTD in the rear trunk. There are instructions for having switched and non-switched circuits. It is the PC8 unit at this web site - reasonably priced: https://www.easternbeaver.com/Main/Wiri ... /pc-8.html

Here is a picture of my install. The first is the fuse block in the trunk:


This second one is showing the 30 amp fuse from the battery terminal of the starter solenoid and the switched relay for the fuse block:


The power out of the fuse can be split to provide unswitched power to the fuse block, and power to the relay for switched power. You can take a single ground wire off the battery to the fuse block.

Good luck. Cheers
"When you write the story of your life, don't let anyone else hold the pen"

Ernest

User avatar
oldishwinger
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 11:26 pm
Location: New Zealand
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200 Aspencade

Re: installing a fuse block

Post by oldishwinger » Fri Jun 01, 2018 8:45 pm

thank you all for the advice very much appreciated

User avatar
SilverDave
Posts: 519
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:39 am
Location: Langley, BC
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 GoldWing Aspy

Re: installing a fuse block

Post by SilverDave » Sun Jun 03, 2018 11:05 am

I also wanted to relieve some of the spaghetti on my "acc" terminal ... but I did not want to add any more to my battery post (Charger, alarm , Voltmeter , and EC harness already on battery ) like extra relays or sensors .

With a little thought , and a fairly inexpensive , no relay, no glowing lights 6 fuse box
( $8.00 or less from China / Ebay )


I re-did many of the "acc" wires. The Ring-of-fire, Rotor lights, 10 watt driving lights ,the 8 rear King lights, side marker lights ,Mp3 charger and twin 50 LED light back-off lights are now all LED's ...

In total they all probably draw 1 amp, if that . The 6 extra fuses do quite a bit to tidy up the "Spaghetti"

SilverDave

User avatar
oldishwinger
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 11:26 pm
Location: New Zealand
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200 Aspencade

Re: installing a fuse block

Post by oldishwinger » Sun Jun 03, 2018 4:33 pm

SilverDave wrote:
Sun Jun 03, 2018 11:05 am
I also wanted to relieve some of the spaghetti on my "acc" terminal ... but I did not want to add any more to my battery post (Charger, alarm , Voltmeter , and EC harness already on battery ) like extra relays or sensors .

With a little thought , and a fairly inexpensive , no relay, no glowing lights 6 fuse box
( $8.00 or less from China / Ebay )
Fuse box .jpg

I re-did many of the "acc" wires. The Ring-of-fire, Rotor lights, 10 watt driving lights ,the 8 rear King lights, side marker lights ,Mp3 charger and twin 50 LED light back-off lights are now all LED's ...

In total they all probably draw 1 amp, if that . The 6 extra fuses do quite a bit to tidy up the "Spaghetti"

SilverDave
thats pretty much my situation, silverdave, thank you very much for your help.



Post Reply