is someone has put a senser gauge at the pressure oil switch


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
franky9322
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 INTERSTATE

is someone has put a senser gauge at the pressure oil switch

Postby franky9322 » Sat May 07, 2011 2:42 pm



someone have done this :
[/b]

install a T a the switch oil pressure and put a oil senser to a gauge (mechanical or best a electric and the pressure switch at he other end:

IT IS 1/8 BPS= .5mm les in diameter than 1/8 NPT maybe order a $10 T 1/8 BPS that i

will have only in 2 to 3 weeks.....the seller told me because special order

i did buy another npt T .......dont fit.:?

i dont know how you install the T without damage the tread.........

i dont want to scrap the engine bloc:watching:k........... and with electric sender with the

gauge

and the switch at each end of the T does it clear the block? the sender is not small

like the switch and the block is not FLAT near the hole. dont know when the T is install

what clearance there is.


maybe with a mechanical with tube..........

and there are 2 rubber hoses with cord shield that connect to a device at 1/2 of the hole........

i would like to see a picture of a electric and/or mechanical gauge...before i buy the

gauge.and the $10 T because i am not sure that the store will it take all that back.


mechanical =$26 electric: $95

have hard time to figure how all ends up.

if it is too difficult to put picture here:

my e-mail is franky__932@hotmail.com


i i have to do all this before getting bike out of the house not the garage.

so i dont want to lost 3 weeks of biking.

ty



User avatar
Uncle Fester
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bethany, Ok, right off Route 66 !
Motorcycle: 1996 GL-1500 Cali model 'Wing, blue in color, named Ol'Blue

Re: is someone has put a senser gauge at the pressure oil sw

Postby Uncle Fester » Sun Dec 14, 2014 12:29 pm

OLD Post, but also something I have thought about, so here is the idea I have. . . .

http://www.vdo-gauges.com/sensors/press ... -30-2.html

this ONE sender is a up to 80 psi oil pressure sender AS WELL AS A 7psi LOW pressure warning light sender in one unit. This would allow me to keep my low pressure warning light as well as add a oil pressure gauge SOMEWHERE on the dash.

THOUGHTS ?
Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know about yourself. Our stress about it happens when the two aren't the same. Be true to yourself and to hell with what everyone else thinks!

Image

franky9322
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 INTERSTATE

Re: is someone has put a senser gauge at the pressure oil sw

Postby franky9322 » Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:33 am

So i put a mechanical gauge (tube +sensor) and a T (pipe) for the oil light warning

User avatar
Uncle Fester
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bethany, Ok, right off Route 66 !
Motorcycle: 1996 GL-1500 Cali model 'Wing, blue in color, named Ol'Blue

Re: is someone has put a senser gauge at the pressure oil sw

Postby Uncle Fester » Mon Dec 15, 2014 12:57 pm

Very cool, How has it worked out so far for you ? I want to put a warning light and a gauge on my 1500
Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know about yourself. Our stress about it happens when the two aren't the same. Be true to yourself and to hell with what everyone else thinks!

Image

franky9322
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 1984 GL1200 INTERSTATE

Re: is someone has put a senser gauge at the pressure oil sw

Postby franky9322 » Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:07 pm

Very good........i can saw the oil pressure at different speed and temp. ..more precise than electric and less costly...($20.00 CAD at Canadian Tire (EQUUS)) still working after 3 years........

if you want the light too.........install a T pipe.......but i dont remember the straight pipe tread that goes in the engine...maybe british....

you have to try different pipes and fitting too......... not just the T.......




Return to “GL1200 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests