Electrical problem


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
svebbe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:25 am
Location: Sweden
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

Electrical problem

Postby svebbe » Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:22 am



Hi!

New to this forum. I just bought me a Goldwing 1200 Aspencade 1986 this weekend. I used to have one just like this in the eighties that i imported from USA to Sweden. So when this one came up in the ads i took the chance to buy it at a very reasonable price. Its works very well apart from some issues. The generator has been changed out already to a more powerful one before, so there should be no problem there. But right now i have two issues that is annoying:

-no sound on the radio. Its says 1300 something in the back of it. Its original radio. I can see the FM band, but no sound. It´s not the speaker button.

-today when i was driving home from work it suddenly died. No current. Everything dead electrical. Tried the killswitch, but it didnt help. Suddenly the current came on again and i could drive again. I have about 30 km to drive home and it happened two more times in that distance. Very annoying and i need it to drive to work. Dont want to be stranded.

Any ideas? I will check it now in the weekend, but i´m happy for some input in this matter.... ;)



User avatar
thrasherg
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:21 am
Location: Plano, TX
Motorcycle: 2004 GL1800, 2005 Honda Shadow 750, 2008 Yamaha R6 with RG500 engine, CRF450X, CRF230, CRF250X, XR200, CR500

Re: Electrical problem

Postby thrasherg » Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:44 pm

There is a fuse int he starter relay (known as the dog fuse) that often fails (the fuse cracks and makes random connections) it's one of the first things to change out. I would suggest looking at the starter relay and find the fuse and see if it is okay, or search on this site for dog fuse and see more details.

Welcome to the club.

Gary

User avatar
svebbe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:25 am
Location: Sweden
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

Re: Electrical problem

Postby svebbe » Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:28 am



Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/img]


Thanks!
Here´s how the fuse area looks like. Inside that black container, with the red wire, there is a another cylinder shaped fuse...it doesnt look original, so maybe something was made to it before?

User avatar
SilverDave
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:39 am
Location: Langley, BC
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 GoldWing Aspy

Re: Electrical problem

Postby SilverDave » Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:54 am

It looks as if the fuse has already been replaced ... I swapped mine out with a 40 amp , more common blade type...
But heres something to check .... I have had it twice, even with the better fuse ...
( all fuses are better than the #$%@$ dogbone fuse !!! )

There is at times.. a LOT of current going thru that fuse, especially with starting ...
I found the fuse feet corroded with directional deposition ... as in .. just on ONE leg... The effect was similar to a cracked Dogbone fuse ... the machine stopped ...and started after a brief cooldown.

so....
Take out the glass fuse, if thats what the dogbone was replaced with...check both ends, and check the holder too,both ends .. Possibly replace with a new fuse .
.

I replaced mine with a really high current, 12 gauge , Marine fuse holder... What goes on in a boat is not a lot different than a bike , being driven through rain , and dust.

SilverDave

User avatar
svebbe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:25 am
Location: Sweden
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

Re: Electrical problem

Postby svebbe » Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:17 am

SilverDave wrote: There is at times.. a LOT of current going thru that fuse, especially with starting ...
I found the fuse feet corroded with directional deposition ... as in .. just on ONE leg... The effect was similar to a cracked Dogbone fuse ... the machine stopped ...and started after a brief cooldown.

so....
Take out the glass fuse, if thats what the dogbone was replaced with...check both ends, and check the holder too,both ends .. Possibly replace with a new fuse .
.

I replaced mine with a really high current, 12 gauge , Marine fuse holder... What goes on in a boat is not a lot different than a bike , being driven through rain , and dust.

SilverDave


You might be on to something there. I remember it had some spots on one of the ends of the cylinder fuse. I will clean it up thoroughly for now and buy a marine fuse holder during next week. Thanks SilverDave!

User avatar
svebbe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:25 am
Location: Sweden
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

Re: Electrical problem

Postby svebbe » Sun Sep 11, 2011 3:01 am

By the way...today there is a 8A fuse in the container...what can i use there if i want to use lets say flat fuses? They dont have 8A flat fuses at my local vendor.






I have one like this one today, 8A

User avatar
svebbe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:25 am
Location: Sweden
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

Re: Electrical problem

Postby svebbe » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:33 am

I replaced the old fuse hanging there beside the battery into a 7.5 A flat fuse with a waterproof fuse holder. Drove it to work today and all went well so far. No stops.

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Electrical problem

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:25 am

Be aware that the original is a 30 amp fuse.I have read about 17 amp going through it.A 7 amp fuse will blow sometime.

User avatar
svebbe
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:25 am
Location: Sweden
Motorcycle: 1986 GL1200A Aspencade

Re: Electrical problem

Postby svebbe » Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:29 pm

virgilmobile wrote:Be aware that the original is a 30 amp fuse.I have read about 17 amp going through it.A 7 amp fuse will blow sometime.


Ok, well i have alot of fuses with me...even 10A. The fuse holder can hold up to 30A. Do you suggest i put a higher amp fuse? What is the recommended amp?

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Electrical problem

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:00 pm

Assuming that what you show is the replacement for the Dog Bone fuse......

Right on the side of the starter solenoid it states "30 amp".Factory fuse link is rated for 30 amp.I use a 30 amp automotive fuse and a marine grade waterproof holder.So use a 30 amp fuse and appropriate wire and connectors.

The fuse is there to protect the 30 amp charging system in-case the battery fails.Although with the bike running,the largest current I have ever seen through the fuse was 17 amp at 4000 rpm.

10 amp runs the bike,leaving the rest (17 amp)to go through the fuse to the battery.
At least put in a 20 amp fuse.
Normal operating current is about 3 amp while driving.




Return to “GL1200 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests