Short - killing battery everytime!?

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
84goldwng
Motorcycle: 1984 Aspencade GL1200

Short - killing battery everytime!?

Postby 84goldwng » Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: 1984 Honda GL 1200 Aspencade

Hello everyone.

I am new to motorcycles and the forum. I actually am storing my father in-laws motorcycle and he's had a problem with it.

The Problem:

No matter if the battery is put on the charger 2A trickle, it is dead! Meaning something is draining this battery even with the charger on! The battery was new...LOL! Now, a paper weight!

It did fire up last year no problem, every 10 days I went out to start as requested to keep the brakes up and the fluid in the clutch??? Sorry, I do not know a thing on any motorcycle! But, I am here to learn and try to help him pin point the problem to address it...he's in the US I am in Canada yadda yadda....

So far, I've read that it might be something running to the starter as there can be a drain on the battery because the ignition switch does not have to be turned on. So, is this a solenoid wire (Black)?

I've checked out this 3 Yellow wire issue that people mention too but the connectors are not melted where they are located, so I am wondering if there is a short between the battery and starter?

If anyone has a photos/info on this issue to help me test with a volt/ohm meter, I'd appreciate it. Otherwise, he said he would just get another battery and get me to start it every 10 days, then pull the negative wire off the battery so it does not die like his last "New - Walmart" battery!!!

The battery is a: 50N18L-A2 (Walmart brand number), it's dead - froze and the cells ran dry as I did not know it was not a self maintaining one!

Thanks in advance to all who can help with the "drain" that is causing the battery to "die out" if left hooked up!

Keith
Lethbridge, AB
Canada

bigbadjim
Motorcycle: 1985 Goldwing LTD